Judaism in China 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

East Asian Studies 

This guide provides access to key resources for East Asian Studies.
Last update: Oct 14th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/eastasia  Print Guide  RSS Updates

China             Print Page
  
 

Chinese Search Tips

BobCat and WorldCat can now be searched using 汉字! Give it a try. But if you don't find what you are looking for (there are sometimes technical complications), do a search using the English alphabet also. BobCat and WorldCat use the Library of Congress romanization system for Chinese, which is based on the principles of the pinyin system. Except for proper nouns, there is a space between the romanized form of every character. Omitting spaces can affect your search results! For example, the title of Liu Dajie's book on the development of the history of Chinese literature is romanized as Zhongguo wen xue fa zhan shi, so a keyword search on "wenxue" spelled without a space will not retrieve any results.

Our list of e-journals, which is where you search for individual e-journal titles can also be searched in 汉字.

 

Not at Bobst?

Our Chinese collection is still in the early stages of its development. If you need a resource that we don't appear to have yet, please be sure to contact the East Asian Studies librarian using the links on the right side of this page. You may also want to request the material via InterLibrary Loan. In addition, the University of Pittsburgh's East Asian Gateway offers free delivery of academic articles in Chinese that are not held by any library in the United States.

 

 

 

Economic and Statistical Information

China Data Online focuses on the economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and other categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical reports on China's population and economy at the county and city level, as well as statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.

 
 

Guide to Online Resources

Tao Yang, the East Asian Studies Librarian at Rutgers University, has created an incredibly comprehensive guide to free online research materials on China, Japan, and Korea. Be sure to browse this unparalleled compilation! 

 

Online Journals

China Academic Journals: Contains the full text of articles in Chinese (and some in English) from nearly 2,000 Chinese humanities and social science journals, as well as dissertations from many Chinese universities. Use Internet Explorer, NOT Firefox, to access this database.

LingLongling long: The women's magazine published in Shanghai between 1931 and 1937, digitized by Columbia University's Starr East Asian Library.

Index to the Early Shenbao 申報 (1872-1898) "This online-index of important articles from the Shanghai daily Shenbao (1872-1949) covers the years from the paper's foundation in April 1872 to the end of the year 1898. It is designed to provide quick keyword access to the more than 11,000 entries and thus facilitate the use of this important source for the history of late Qing China. The index includes all leading articles from the Shenbao itself, as well as the articles reprinted from Hong Kong papers, above all those from the early Xunhuan Ribao 環日報 (i.e. 1874 to 1879) edited by Wang Tao, which are not preserved otherwise."

 

Print Journals

Zhongguo jin xian dai nü xing qi kan hui bian (中國近現代女性期刊匯編), a large set of books consisting of women's periodicals from the early 20th century, can be found on the 10th floor in the East Asian Collection. To see all the journal titles in this compilation, search BobCat for that title; or search for an individual title, such as Zhongguo fu nü (中國婦女).

We subscribe to the following print journals in Chinese. Click the title to check availability in BobCat. Current issues are in the Current Periodical room on the 3rd floor of Bobst; bound back issues are found in the stacks of Bobst at the call number indicated in BobCat.

Shou huo 收穫
Dang dai 当代
Shi yue 十月
Hua cheng 花城
Shanghai wen xue 上海文学
Tian ya 天涯
Zhongguo shi yan jiu  中国史研究
 

Newspapers

The 60-volume reprint of the Nanjing edition of 中央日报 Zhong yang ri bao (1928-1949) is in the oversize section of the Bobst East Asian Studies collection, at the west end of the 10th floor north reading room.

PressDisplay has the current issue and the previous two months' issues of the following newpapers in Chinese: 美术报 China Art Weekly, 中国剪报 China Digest, 中国企业报 China Enterprise News, 中国国门时报 China Inspection and Quarantine Times, 中国医药报 China Pharmaceutical News, 联合早报 Lianhe Zaobao, 浅江晚报 Qianjiang Evening News, 今日早报 Zhejiang Morning News, and 浙江日报 Zhejiang Daily. In English it has the China Daily, China Economist, Shanghai Daily, and South China Morning Post.

 

Premodern Chinese Materials

  • Grand Secretariat Archives  
      
    This database from Academia Sinica contains more than 300,000 documents from the Ming dynasty to the late Qing dynasty. Please contact the East Asian Studies librarian for access information.
  • Scripta Sinica  
      
    Also from Academia Sinica, this is one of the largest full-text databases for the study of premodern China, including about 500 multivolume histories, such as Ming Shi Lu, Qing Shi Lu, etc.
  • Siku Quanshu  
      
    Note: For now, you must use MS Internet Explorer, not Firefox to access this! The Siku Quanshu (Wenyuange Edition), compiled in 1773-1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong, contains 3,460 works on topics including history, politics, economics, and more.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageDawn Lawson, East Asian Studies Librarian


Contact Info:
Bobst Library, Mezzanine
To reach my office, go through the Bobst Lobby almost as far back as the Reference Desk. Go up the stairs to the left and through the door at the top of the stairs. My office is the first one on the right.
Send Email

Subjects:
East Asian Studies

 

Chinese Literature

The Modern Chinese Literature Research Portal (中国现代文学网)is an exciting new collection of searchable texts about, well, modern Chinese literature.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait