What about google scholar?
Google Scholar is a time-saving, scholarly search interface accessible from within the Google interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book sections. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results, but Google Scholar is a good tool to use for a search for a known item. To customize your interface for NYU resources use the directions in the Google Scholar Setup Guide
Search BobCat
Search here for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.
Electronic Reference Books
Below are selected links to electronic reference tools.
- Access Medicine: more than 50 medical texts including Harrison's online, drug monographs, images and illustrations, interactive
self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, patient education, Quick Answers from Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment (CMDT), more.
- ACP Medicine Electronic textbook of general medicine; updated continually.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination, 4th Edition, [Note: This resource is compatible only with Internet Explorer.]
- Biomedical eBooks by title Full-text electronic books.
-
Clin-eguide Clinical Decision Support
Simultaneously searches textbooks, evidence-based guidelines and articles, Facts and Comparisons Drug Information, Medline (1996-present), CINAHL national guidelines and patient handouts. Search nursing content by clicking on the menu item: "The Nursing Advisor."
- Credo Reference: Credo is a vast, online reference library, containing dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range or subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology.Access full text of hundreds of highly regarded and popular titles. Credo uses the web to add another dimension to reference books. Not only does our powerful search look through your collection of books in seconds, but our unique network of cross-references connect relevant information across the whole library.
- Drug Facts & Comparisons, Pocket Version via books@Ovid
- ebrary: a searchable collection of thousands of online full-text books and other materials that spans all academic subject areas, including health, biomedical and clinical sciences, social and behavioral sciences.
- Electronic texts for drug information
- eMedicine Physician authors and editors contribute to the eMedicine Clinical Knowledge Base, which contains articles on 7,000 diseases and disorders. The evidence-based content provides the latest practice guidelines in 62 medical specialties. eMedicine's professional content undergoes multiple levels of physician peer review.
- Fischbach's Manual of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests via books@Ovid
- Gale Virtual Reference Library: a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. SCROLL to view publications in medicine, including the Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health, Encyclopedia of Pain, Encyclopedia of Cancer, Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health, Encyclopedia of Medicine, Encyclopedia of Public Health, Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, and MORE.
- Harrison's Online Consists of the latest edition of the basic text of Harrison's Principles
of Internal Medicine, sections on clinical trials, updates (and their
related references, including abstracts) related to the text and an
online pretests section
- Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide via books@Ovid
- Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice via books@Ovid
- The Merck Manuals Online Medical Library
- MD Consult Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, clinical practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts and CME materials with a particular emphasis on primary health care.
- National Academy Press Online Texts in Medicine and Public Health more than 3600 searchable online books
- Natural Standard evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies.
- Nursing Care Plans & Documentation: Nursing Diagnoses and Collaborative Problems via books@Ovid
- Oxford Reference Online
Medicine subset searches Oxford Companion to the Body; Dictionary of
Food and Nutrition; Concise Medical Dictionary; A-Z of Medicinal Drugs;
Oxford Companion to Medicine; Dictionary of Nursing; Dictionary of
Psychology; Dictionary of Public Health; Dictionary of Sports Science
& Medicine.
- Reference Universe: a vast, cumulative index with over 15 million citations to over 10,000 specialized encyclopedias, compendia and handbooks.
- STAT!Ref Searchable full-text medical and drug information. Includes more than 25 medical reources such as Stedman's Dictionary, Mosby's Drug Consult, Merck Manual, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Current Pediatric Diagnosis and Treatment, DSM-IV-TR (Text Revision 2000), USP DI Vols 1 and 2, AHFS Drug Information and many more.
- UptoDate for Patients freely available, continuously updated consumer literature reviews on health topics from A to Z.
- Click here for MORE Nursing and Allied Health Electronic Reference Sources
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait