Citing Sources
The box below gives citation examples for APA style. For more styles and examples, go to complete Library Guide to Citing Sources.
Citing PRINT Sources, APA
| In Reference List |
Text Citation |
|
| Book: 1 Author |
|
(Batavia, 2006) |
| Book: 3 to 6 Authors |
|
(Hoskins, Haber, & Budin, 2001) first citation (Hoskins et al, 2001) subsequent citations |
| Book: Editor, Translator, or Compiler (instead of author) |
Mezey, M. D.
(Ed.). (2001). The encyclopedia of elder care: The comprehensive resource on
geriatric and social care. |
(Mezey, 2001) |
| Book: Chapter, Introduction, Preface, Foreword, Afterword, Encyclopedia Entry |
Mitty, E.L.
(2001). Assisted Living. In M.D. Mezey (Ed.), The encyclopedia of elder
care: The comprehensive resource on geriatric and social care. |
(Mitty, 2001) |
| Journal Article, 1 Author |
Rosenfeld P. (2005). Women in green: The contributions of Hadassah nursing to immigrant and refugee health in pre-state and the early years of the State of Israel. Nursing History Review, 13, 101-119. |
(Rosenfeld, 2005) |
| Journal Article, 2 Authors |
Collard, S., & Tempelman-Kluit, N. (2006). The other way in: Goal-based library content through CMS. Internet Reference Services Quarterly, 11(4), 55-68. |
(Collard & Tempelman-Kluit, 2006) |
| Journal Article, 3-5 Authors |
Jacobs, J.,
Kahana, M.J., Ekstrom, A.D., & Fried, |
(Jacobs, Kahana, Ekstrom, & Fried, 2007) first citation (Jacobs et al., 2007) subsequent citations |
| Popular Magazine Article |
Hertzberg, H. (2008, December). Eight is enough. The New Yorker, 84(39), 27. |
(Hertzberg, 2008) |
| Newspaper Article, 1 author |
Rich, F. (2008, November 9). It still felt good the morning after. New York Times, p. WK9. |
(Rich, 2008) |
| Newspaper Article, no author |
If you were stranded on an island. (2008, September 30). New York Times, p. F5. |
("If you were stranded," 2008) |
| ERIC document |
McNulty, T., (Ed.). (1999). Accessible
libraries on campus: A practical guide for the creation of disability-friendly
libraries. |
(McNulty, 1999) |
| Book Review |
Zbar, R. I. S.
(1995). Autobiography of a face [Review of the book Autobiography of
a Face]. The |
(Zbar, 1995) |
| Thesis or Dissertation |
Capezuti, E.A. (1995). The relationship between physical restraint removal and fall-related incidents and injuries among nursing home residents. (Doctoral dissertation, University of Pennsylvania, 1995). Dissertation Abstracts International 56/06, 3123. |
(Capezuti, 1995) |
| Conference or Meeting Paper |
Peters, H. M. (2002). Milton S. Hershey - one of a kind, founder of the Hershey Chocolate Company. Abstracts of papers of the American Chemical Society, 223, 013-CHAL. |
(Peters, 2002) |
| Audiovisual Materials |
Twentieth Century
Fox Film Corporation (Producer), & Wise, R. (Director). (c2000). The
Sound of Music [videorecording]. |
(Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation & Wise, c2000) |
Citing ELECTRONIC Sources, APA
For examples not listed here,
see print version of the Publication Manual of the American
Psychological Association, 5th ed, at 1st, 6th, and 9th floor reference
centers, call number BF76.7.P83 2001. Supplement, APA Style Guide to Electronic References, is linked here and available for download by NYU students, faculty, and staff.
Link to: Citing PRINT Sources, APA
|
In Reference List |
Text Citation |
|
|
Web Page |
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. (2008). National
diabetes fact sheet: General information and national estimates on diabetes in
the
|
(Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2008) |
|
Online video |
BobstRef9. (2008, September 3). Welcome to Coles. [Video file]. Video posted to http://www.youtube.com/BobstRef9
|
(BobstRef9, 2008 |
|
Audio podcast |
Duchon, R. (2007). Ashes to hope: Overcoming the
|
(Duchon, 2007) |
|
Electronic book, 1 author, retrieved from library database. |
Didion, J. (2005). Year of magical thinking. Retrieved from ebrary database.
|
(Didion, 2005) |
|
Electronic book, 1 author, retrieved from web. |
American Psychological Association (2007). APA Style Guide to Electronic References. Available from: http://library.nyu.edu/restricted/collections/APA%20Style%20Guide%202008.pdf |
(American Psychological Association, 2007) |
|
Electronic Book: 2 Authors |
Tittel, E., & Burmeister, M.C. (2005). HTML 4 for dummies. Retrieved from books24x7 database.
|
(Tittel & Burmeister, 2005) |
|
Electronic Book: Editor, Translator, or Compiler (instead of author) |
Mezey, M.D.(Ed.). (2002). Ethical patient care : A
casebook for geriatric health care teams.
|
(Mezey, 2002) |
|
Electronic Book: Chapter, Introduction, Preface, Foreword, Afterword, Encyclopedia Entry |
|
(American Academy of Family Physicians, 2008) |
|
Electronic Journal Article, 1 Author, DOI assigned |
Bear-Lehman, J. (2002). A word about qualitative research. Journal of Hand Therapy, 15(1), 85-86. doi: 10.1053/hanthe.2002.v15.01585
|
(Bear-Lehman, 2002) |
|
Electronic Journal Article, 1 Author, without DOI assigned |
Fulmer, T. (2007). How to try this: Fulmer SPICES. AJN, American Journal of Nursing 107(10), 40-48. Retrieved from: http://www.nursingcenter.com/pdf.asp?AID=743877
|
(Fulmer, 2007) |
|
Electronic Journal 1-2 authors, DOI assigned |
Ellis, E L., & Whatley K.M. (2008). The evolution of critical thinking skills in library instruction, 1986-2006: A selected and annotated bibliography and review of selected programs. College & Undergraduate Libraries, 15(1/2), 5-20. doi: 10.1080/10691310802176665
|
(Ellis & Whatley, 2008) |
|
Electronic Journal Article, 1-2 Authors, without DOI assigned |
Dobal, M.T., & Torkelson, D.J. (2004). Making decisions about sexual rights in psychiatric facilities. Archives of Psychiatric Nursing, 18(2), 68-74. Retrieved from: http://linkinghub.elsevier.com/retrieve/pii/S088394170400022
|
(Dobal & Torkelson, 2004) |
|
Electronic Popular Magazine Article, retrieved from Proquest database. |
Hertzberg, H. (2008, December). Eight is enough. The New Yorker, 84(39), 27. Retrieved from Research Library database.
|
(Hertzberg, 2008) |
|
Electronic Newspaper Article, 1 author, retrieved from database. |
Brody, J. (2008, December 16). Query for aging patients: How much do you drink? [Science Desk]. New York Times (Late Edition (East Coast), p. D7. Retrieved from Banking Information Source database.
|
(Brody, 2008) |
|
Newspaper Article, retrieved from the web. |
Brody, J. (2008, December 16). Query for aging patients: How much do you drink? New York Times. Retrieved January 17, 2009, from http://www.nytimes.com/2008/12/16/health/16brod.html?_r=1&scp=1sq=how%20much%20do%20you%20drink&st=cse
|
(Brody, 2008) |
|
Electronic Newspaper Article, no author, retrieved from database. |
Getting the bed bugs out . [Editorial]. (2009, January 14). New York Times (Late Edition (East Coast), p. A32. Retrieved from Banking Information Source database.
|
("Getting the bed bugs out," 2009) |
|
Thesis retrieved from database |
Krainovich-Miller, B. (1988). Clinical validation of
the nursing diagnosis of preoperative state anxiety. Retrieved from Proquest
Digital Dissertations & Theses. (AAT 8824404) |
(Krainovich-Miller, 1988) |
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait