Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

English and American Literature 

This guide is divided into sections that correspond to high-level information-seeking habits of literary scholars.
Last update: Nov 04th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books, Articles, and Digital Text             Print Page
  
 

Database Search Tips

Here are tips for better search results in databases. This usage works on most databases, but check 'Help' sections for supported search syntax. 

Boolean: (using operators: and, or, not) 

mother and father searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.


mother or father searches for one or all, but both are not required.


mother not father searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father.’


(mother not father) and god searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father,’ then also requires the word ‘god.’

 

Truncation: 

art* searches for art, arts, artistic, artful, etc.

Wildcard: 

m?n searches for man and men. 

 
 

Search BobCat for Books and Articles

Search here for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.

 

Digital Collections

In cases where the title of a database does not immediately reflect the nature of its contents, notes have been provided.

American Periodicals Series Online

Provides full-text and full-image access to 1,500 periodical titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period. Includes special-interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, women's and children's magazines, and other historically significant periodicals.

Black Short Fiction

Black Women Writers

British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries

British Periodicals (Collections I & II)

Provides full-text and full-image access to hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth to the early twentieth century. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts, the social sciences, music, archaeology and architecture.

Caribbean Literature

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

Dictionary of Old English / Old English Corpus

Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw Shoemaker, 1801-1819

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)

Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period

Latin American Women Writers

Latino Literature

Literature Online (LION)

A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose. LION is the single most extensive and wide-ranging online collection of English and American literature.

Middle English Compendium

North American Women's Letters and Diaries: Colonial to 1950

Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present

Past Masters

Shakespeare Collection: Featuring the Arden Shakespeare Complete Works

Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period

South and Southeast Asian Literature

Text Creation Partnership (TCP)

TCP provides access to subsets of the texts contained in three large historical text collections: Early English Books Online, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans. Texts in the TCP subsets have been enhanced by additional textual mark-up to enable searching options more sophisticated than what is possible in the original databases.

Women Writers Online

 

Contact

Chad Curtis
Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
(212) 998-2517
Send Email

Subjects:
English and American Literature, Comparative Literature

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait