Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

International Trade Statistics 

Last update: Jul 23rd, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/internationaltradestastistics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

International Direct Investment            Print Page
  
 

Business Research

Virtual Business Library

Start your business research here. You can access the library's business resources: including information on industries, marketing, companies, etc.).

 
 

International Direct Investment

International Direct Investment Statistics in SourceOECD  Click on the "statistics" tab at the top of the page, then OECD Statistics on the left.

OECD Reviews of Foreign Direct Investment. Irregular.
Bobst Ref6 Int'l. Docs. HG4538.O43, 1995-.
Reviews by country of the FDI situation, regulations on policies towards FDI, sectoral measures or restrictions, other related topics, and brief statistical tables.See Also Source OECD.(Type "foreign direct investment reviews"--without the quotes in the search box on the upper right hand side.

International Direct Investment Statistics Yearbook-OECD
Bobst Ref6 Int'l. Docs. HG4583.I48, 1993-2004.
Annual publication giving detailed statistics on international direct investment to and from OECD member countries. It includes direct investment from abroad by industrial sector, inflows and outflows by country, and by inward and outward position.See Also Source OECD.

EIU World Investment Report
The service covers the world's 60 largest economies and provides detailed data and analysis on the political and economic background, the business environment, business costs, foreign investment regulations, trends in foreign investment. Plus a detailed database containing flows of investment and mergers & acquisitions by country and by industry.

UNCTAD Foreign Direct Investment Database
The FDI database presents aggregate inflows, outflows, inward stocks and outward stocks of foreign direct investment (FDI) for 196 reporting economies in an interactive format. See also, Bobst Ref6 Int'l Docs. 1984-.

UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics  International merchandise trade by region, product, trade indicators; international trade in services, and more.

World Investment Report. United Nations.
Also Bobst Ref6 Desk current year, and Int'l. Docs. HG4538.W67, 1991-.
Covers global trends, FDI flows, investment policy issues, 100 largest TNCs, host country determinants of FDI and a statistical annex in the back.

World Development Indicators Washington, D.C.: World Bank. (annual). 500 time series indicators for 148 countries and regional and income groups, with basic indicators for a further 62 countries. Time series for most indicators cover 1960 to the present. Includes FDI, gross domestic fixed investment, net direct and portfolio investment, and more.

Balance of Payments Statistics. International Monetary Fund.
Bobst Ref6 Desk current, and Int'l. Docs. HF1041.I5, 1967-
Part 1 provides 8-year detailed balance-of-payments figures by country, including statistics for goods, services and income, capital account, reserves, unrequited transfers, direct investment abroad, and direct investment in each country. Part 2 contains world totals for balance of payments components and aggregates.

Balance of Payments Statistics Online

The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA), an agency of the U.S. Dept. of Commerce, publishes a large amount of information on international accounts data, including BOP, FDI, US investment abroad and more. For a comprehensive listing of BEA publications on direct investment, go to http://www.bea.doc.gov/.

International Direct Investment. U.S. Dept. of Commerce, BEA.
Bobst Ref6 US Docs C59.2:IN 8/6
Collection of key studies by the BEA on U.S. direct investment abroad and FDI in the US, including a guide to their statistics.

US Direct Investment Abroad...Benchmark Survey, Preliminary Results. US Dept. Of Commerce
Bobst Ref6 US Docs. C59.20, and ASI fiche 2704-5.
Data on the financial structure and operations of US parent companies and their non-bank foreign affiliate, including income statements, balance statements, trade in goods, sales, employment and compensation, and more. Please note, these are very slow in coming out (e.g., 1994 was published in 1997). Look for revised estimates in the July issue of the Survey of Current Business.

Foreign Direct Investment in the United States. US Dept. of Commerce, International Trade Administration
Bobst Ref6 US Docs C61.25, 1974-, and ASI fiche 2704-4. Identifies and analyzes FDI transactions in the US. Iincludes statistical tables such as investment transactions by SIC and country.

Survey of Current Business. U.S. Dept. Of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis. (monthly).
Bobst Ref6 Desk current year, and US Docs C59.11, 1978, 1980-, and ASI 2702-1. Contains important feature articles and statistics affecting international business. Each monthly issue includes statistics on U.S. international transactions in goods and services, international position of the U.S., U.S. direct investment abroad, and financial and operating data of nonbank U.S. affiliates of foreign countries.

STAT-USA
A databank of over 90,000 documents, tables and periodicals released on a monthly basis by the U.S. Department of Commerce. Sources include international and economic trade statistics from over 15 federal agencies.

Statistical Universe
An excellent resource for statistics from international organizations such as the IMF, OECD, UN, World Bank, and more.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait