Business Research
Virtual Business Library
Start your business research here. You can access the library's business resources: including information on industries, marketing, companies, etc.).
Trade Statistics
UN Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN Comtrade) Every year over 130 countries provide the United Nations Statistics Division with their annual international trade statistics, detailed by commodity and partner country. These data are processed into a standard format with consistent coding and valuation. All values are converted into US dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade.
ITCS International Trade by Commodity Database The ITCS - International Trade by Commodities Statistics database set is a unique and reliable source of yearly statistical data on imports and exports in OECD countries, selected non OECD countries, as well as in the OECD main country groupings. It provides detailed data in value (thousands USD) and quantity by commodities and by partner countries.
International Financial Statistics Online (from the IMF) International Financial Statistics. Washington, D.C.: International Monetary Fund. (monthly and annual). Bobst Ref6 Desk current and Int'l Docs,. HG3881.I626, 1948-, and IIS fiche 3830-S2, 1983-.
Statistical Universe
An excellent resource for statistics from international organizations such as the IMF, OECD, UN, World Bank, and more.
STAT-USA
A databank of over 90,000 documents, tables and periodicals released on a monthly basis by the U.S. Department of Commerce. Sources include international and economic trade statistics from over 15 federal agencies. Use Globus/NTDB for over 200,000 trade related releases.
Direction of Trade Statistics Online
Quarterly and annual values for imports and exports between countries. In US dollars, arranged by country. Supplies same information by World and area/region, or groups of countries. Does not supply commodity information.
Direction of Trade Statistics IMF and IBRD (Quarterly and Annual)
Bobst Ref6 Desk current (yearbook) and Int'l. Docs. HF1016.I652b
Int'l. Docs HF1016.I562a, 1981-, and IIS fiche 3840-P4.
Quarterly
and annual values for imports and exports between countries. In US
dollars, arranged by country. Supplies same information by World and
area/region, or groups of countries. Does not supply commodity
information.
Balance of Payments Statistics Online
Detailed balance-of-payments figures by country, including statistics for goods, services and income, capital account, reserves, unrequited transfers, direct investment abroad, and direct investment in each country. Part 2 contains world totals for balance of payments components and aggregates.
Balance of Payments Statistics. International Monetary Fund.
Bobst Ref6 Desk current, and Int'l. Docs. HF1041.I5, 1967-
Part
1 provides 8-year detailed balance-of-payments figures by country,
including statistics for goods, services and income, capital account,
reserves, unrequited transfers, direct investment abroad, and direct
investment in each country. Part 2 contains world totals for balance of
payments components and aggregates.
Use this for the leading 4 imports/exports and trading partners, trading volume and prices for 117 countries.
Source OECD
Includes access to the publications and statistics of the OECD, many of which are trade related.
Monthly Statistics of Foreign Trade-OECD (series A)
Bobst Ref6 Intl. Docs. HF91.O672a, 1983-, also IIS fiche 2300- P6
Provides aggregate trade indicators (value of trade for OECD as a whole, for each member country and selected groups of countries). Also provides volume and average value indices for imports and exports by country, industrial group, and major commodity group (very general, using only 1 SITC digit, combining up to 4 sections), and finally foreign trade by OECD countries with other countries. See Also Monthly Statistcs of International Trade in Source OECD.
Foreign Trade by Commodities-OECD (series C)Bobst Ref6 Intl. Docs. HF91.O672c, 1981-, and IIS fiche 2300-S39Values of imports and exports by commodity and country and by groups of countries such as NAFTA, EU-15, and OECD-Total, and OECD-Asia Pacific. Breakdowns are by broad 1 and 2 digit SITC classifications.See Also ITCS International Trade by Commodity in Source OECD.
UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics International merchandise trade by region, product, trade indicators; international trade in services, and more. See also, Bobst Ref6 Int'l Docs. 1984-.
Commodity Trade Statistics. United Nations
Bobst Ref6 Int'l. Docs ST/ESA/STAT/SER D. 1952-1972 Aisle 10; 1973-1994 Aisle 9; 1995-, IIS fiche 3080-S1
Four digit SITC code coverage most UN member countries. Import and export data between UN member countries is converted to a common format for easy comparability. Values are in U.S. dollars, converted using weighted exchange rates. When available, quantities are given in metric units. As with most UN materials, these are rather late in coming out.
Handbook of International Trade and Development Statistics. UNCTAD.
Bobst Ref6 Int'l. Docs Aisle 16, sales section II.D. 1986-
Data largely drawn from other sources, but nicely presented, providing time series whenever possible. Import/export statistics, BOP, FDI, debt and it's ratio to GNP, debt service and it's ratio to exports, and more. Late in coming out--at least 3 years behind.
World Trade Organization Annual Report-WTO, 2 volumes (Formerly International Trade: Trends and Statistics-GATT)
Bobst Ref6I HF1371.A56 current, and Bstack 1994-
Vol. 2 is all statistical tables providing an overview of world trade for the year, such as leading importers and exporters, growth of trade by region, etc. Tables are broken down by regions, i.e North America, Latin America, Western Europe, Cental and Eastern Europe, with further breakdowns in each group by import/export of product group, etc. Vol. 1 covers a special topic each year such as "Trade and Foreign Direct Investment". Also see http://www.wto.org/english/info_e/site_e.htm for excerpts from this publication and from the Trade Policy Review.
International Trade and Tariff Data The World Trade Organization (WTO).
Includes the annual International Trade Data report providing comprehensive, comparable and up-to-date statistics on trade in merchandise and commercial services for an assessment of world trade flows by country, region and main product groups or service categories. Also includes the Statistics Database with up to date WTO trade data. You can also use this site for tariff information for WTO members at the standardized Harmonized System 6-digit subheading level.
Web Resources for International Trade The Federation of International Trade Associations (FITA).
The most comprehensive searchable database of International Trade Web Resources on the Internet! More than 7000 links to International Trade / Import-Export Web sites are annotated and indexed.
Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Dept. of Commerce
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Go to this site for BOP, imports and exports, investment position, US direct investment abroad, and FDI in the U.S.
US Foreign Trade Highlights. US Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration
Bobst Ref6 US Docs. C61.28, 1984-, also ASI fiche 2044-37.
Provides data on US international trade; aggregate exports and imports, US commodity and country trade balances, and trade with major partners and regions. Data is usually given for about 6 years. Also, see the foreign trade section of the Office of Trade and Economic Analysis' website at http://www.ita.doc.gov/.
Librarian |
Mary Jean PavelsekReference Associate |
Andy Rutkowski, Reference Associate for Business and Government DocumentsBobst Library - 6th Floor, Documents Center
212-998-2602
andy.rutkowski@nyu.edu
Send Email
Librarian for U.S. Business & Economics, Hospitality & Tourism |
Alicia EstesNew York University
Elmer H. Bobst Library, #605
Send Email
Subjects:
Business, Economics, Hospitality & Tourism
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait