Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

International Statistics 

Last update: Sep 15th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/int_statistics  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General Statistics            Print Page
  
 

Business Research

Virtual Business Library

Start your business research here. You can access the library's business resources: including information on industries, marketing, companies, etc.).

 
 

General Statistics

International Financial Statistics. Washington, D.C.: International Monetary Fund. (monthly and annual). Bobst Ref6 Desk current and Int'l Docs,. HG3881.I626, 1948-, and IIS fiche 3830-S2, 1983-. The standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments and of inflation and deflation, i.e., data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. The IFS database contains time series data from 1948.

EIU Country Data London: Economist Intelligence Unit. (monthly, quarterly, annually). 278 series on 117 countries from 1980 to 2005. Analytical functions and charting features are available.

EIU City Data Contains pricing information on more than 160 products and services in 123 cities worldwide. You can check everything from the cost of a loaf of bread in Adelaide to the average electricity bill of a local family in Zurich.

EIU World Investment Service covers the world's 60 largest economies and provides detailed data and analysis on the political and economic background, the business environment, business costs, foreign investment regulations, trends in foreign investment. Plus a detailed database containing flows of investment and mergers & acquisitions by country and by industry.

EIU Market Indicators and Forecasts database of industries, demographics, consumption, average wages, income levels, market size, infrastructure and the business environment data on 60 key countries worldwide. Contains over 500 series stretching back to 1990 and forward five years.

World Development Indicators Online Washington, D.C.: World Bank. (annual). 500 time series indicators for 148 countries and regional and income groups, with basic indicators for a further 62 countries. Time series for most indicators cover 1960 to the present.

ISI Emerging Markets Country, company, and industry information; financial market data and economic analysis for more than 40 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.

CEIC Data Manager Comprehensive database Web site focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.

Statistical Universe Bethesda, MD: CIS Indexes many, but not all of the statistical publications of the U.S. Government and IGO's (Intergovernmental Organzitions) such as the IMF, UN, OECD, World Bank and more. Contains direct links to some statistics, while others are available in the International and U.S. Documents Centers on REF6, or in other databases listed on this guide. You may also wish to consult the Index to International Statistics Bobst REF6 Index Z7552 .I532 1- 1983- ., which does a more thorough indexing of IGO statistics, most available on microfiche.

Balance of Payments Statistics Washington, D.C.: International Monetary Fund. (monthly and annual). A comprehensive source of balance of payments statistics for the countries of the world.

Direction of Trade Statistics Washington, D.C.: International Monetary Fund. (monthly and annual). Figures on the value of merchandise exports and imports for more than 150 countries.

Global Financial Data A collection of financial and economic data provided in ASCII or Excel format. Over 20,000 historic and current data series.

SourceOECD Paris: Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. (regularly updated). Publications portal of the OECD. Access to monographs and full text of all periodicals, as well as a statistical database.

Global Insight Global Insight provides economic and financial coverage of countries, regions, and industries from various established and respected sources. Covers over 200 countries and approximately 170 industries.

Global Market Information Database
An extensive database of international market data, including country data, lifestyle information, forecasts and much more.

Datastream. Datastream International. Online. Bobst Ref6, stand alone terminal Provides data on world financial markets, economic time series from national governments, the OECD and IMF, company data, foreign stock and bond indices and more.

PRS CountryData Detailed political risk rankings, economic indicators and forecasts for over 160 countries

United Nations Common Database provides selected series from numerous specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas.

Global Development Finance (Formerly the World Debt Tables). Washington, D.C.: World Bank. (annual). Also Bobst Ref6 Desk current & Int'l. Docs, Aisle 43, 1975-, 1981, 1983/84, 1991/92, 1994/95-, & IIS fiche 4530-S6, 1975-. Bobst Ref6 CD ROM 2 volume set, with one volume providing recent developments in international lending to developing countries, and summary tables; volume 2 contains external debt tables for over 100 countries.

Central Bank Statistical Publications. (annual and usually quarterly or monthly). Central banks publish bulletins that are predominantly or partially statistical in nature and provide many of these publications free of charge on the web. An excellent website for these publications is http://www.bis.org/cbanks.htm In addition, Bobst Library collects the publications of a number of central banks. A few examples include publications from the Deutsche Bundesbank, Bank of England, Bank of Japan, Bank of Canada, Banco Central del Ecuador, National Bank of Egypt, and others. Please check BobCat for print holdings. Lastly, Bobst subscribes to National Statistical Compendiums a microfiche set of the statistical abstracts of the countries of the world, available on the 6th floor of the library.

National Statistical Offices  Datas sources and links for national statistical offices around the world.  Also:  Statistical Compendiums of Foreign Governments. London: Chadwyck-Healy. (annual). Bobst Ref6 fiche. Most countries publish annual statistical volumes providing the more important statistics for that country. Bobst maintains an extensive microfiche collection of these statistical compendiums as well as some print volumes. Please check BobCat for holdings.

African Development Indicators

Data in Africa Development Indicators have been gathered from a variety of sources to present a broad picture of development across Africa. Data are presented from 1965 for 53 African countries and 5 regional country groups, arranged in separate tables or matrices for more than 450 indicators.

China Data Online Comprehensive database Web site focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases about China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches. Also includes statistical yearbooks, census data, industrial and marketing surveys, and an atlas of China.

IndiaStat  Statistics on health, higher education, agricultural and industrial production information, economic statistics, and tourism related data in India. The database also contains information bank and financial institutions, companies, co-operatives, crime and law, population, foreign trade, labour and workforce, housing, media, power, transport, urban-rural settlements and economy in India and more.   Click on "IP LOGIN" button to authenticate

EuroStat Eurostat's mission is to provide high quality support for the seamless dissemination and efficient use of European statistical information as a public, non profit service within the European Statistical System (ESS).

World Economic and Social Survey. New York: United Nations. (annual). Bobst Ref6 Desk current and Int'l. Docs, aisle 16, 1955-. An analysis of world economic policies, trends and issues. Statistical tables include macroeconomic indicators, international trade and finance, and financial markets for developed market economies and economies in transition.

Government Finance Statistics Yearbook. Washington, D.C.: International Monetary Fund. (Annual). Bobst Ref6 Desk current and Int'l. Docs. HJ101.G68, 1977-, and IIS fiche 3840-S4, 1983-. Detailed statistical tables on central government revenue, expenditure, lending, financing and debt, and more.

 

Librarian

Profile ImageMary Jean Pavelsek
Contact Info:
Bobst Library, 6th floor, room 618
Send Email

Subjects:
International Business, Economics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait