History
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Graduate Student Services 

Last update: Oct 06th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/grads  Print Guide  RSS Updates

History             Print Page
  
 

What can we do for you?


Hello from the NYU Bobst Library:

We are continuing to develop, create, and enhance library services and spaces for the graduate student community of scholars. In order to fulfill our deep commitment to our vital relationship with you, our graduate students, we need your help. Please continue to help us help you by sharing your insights, comments, and ideas for change. As always, thank you for your willingness to participate!

  • --The Graduate Student Service Working Group
    (For more information, email scott.collard@nyu.edu)
 

Fall 2009 Grad Classes

Don't miss our annual Graduate Student Reception, Thursday, September 17, 6:00-8:00pm, in the Bobst Library 6th-floor Reading Room. Click here or on the image below to RSVP for the reception and to sign up for our fall graduate student workshop series beginning September 2nd. 

 

Sign Up For Graduate Student Workshops - Click here!

 

Spring 2009 Welcome Week Classes

Welcome Week classes announced!

Get off on the right foot with these specially designed programs and sessions. NYU’s expert librarians are here to help you become a stronger, more efficient, more effective scholar. Set aside some time at the beginning of your semester to learn how you can set yourself up for success.

Managing your research and bibliographies

Learn how to organize your research by using an easy personal database called RefWorks. We will set you up with your very own RefWorks database, show you the basics of adding citations, and show you how to automatically create bibliographies in your desired style (APA, MLA, etc) directly from your RefWorks account. This is a MUST-KNOW session for all grad students.

 

Back to School Basics

Maybe you’ve been out of school for a number of years, or just haven’t had time to figure out how to get your research under control. This session is for you. We will cover the basics of academic research methods, especially focusing on online catalogs, databases, and various ways you can manage your research and bibliographies. Make sure to bring questions!

 

“Ask Anything” Drop-in Services

Don’t see what you are looking for? We’ll have our ever-popular drop-in clinics for two days this week. Come and ask us for advice and help with any facet of your research, including which databases to use and how to use them; how to save your materials in Refworks; how to get more help from a specialist in your area; and more. No question too big or small!

 

 

Content

  • You're invited to our Annual Graduate Student Reception in the Bobst Library 6th-Floor Reading Room on Thursday, September 18th, 6:30-8:00. Come enjoy food, wine, and good conversation while meeting your subject specialist librarian. Please RSVP by going to this link.
  • Fall 2008 Workshops and classes.
    • Tools and Tricks: From using RefWorks to import, store, and organize your citations to utilizing Blackboard for your teaching needs, this series of workshops focus on taking advantage of some of the highly specialized resources that Bobst has to offer.

    • Getting Oriented: Not sure where to start? Feeling overwhelmed by all of the resources at your disposal? Take a look at these classes for a basic overview of library services, classes, and technologies.

    • Digging Deep: Check out these workshops that go beyond the basics. Meet with our special collections librarian for some hands on instruction with finding and using primary sources, get a jump start on your dissertation proposal, or even get help locating grants and fellowships in the Sciences!

Be a Better Research Assistant: a survival guide for Grad Students

Wed. Sept. 26, 2007

This workshop will provide information about library services and resources that you can utilize to provide research assistance for faculty members.
Location: Avery Room, Avery Fisher Center 2nd fl. Bobst Library
[Workshop Handouts (pdf)]

Advanced Refworks for Graduate Students

Wed. Oct. 10, 2007

Learn how to use the advanced features of RefWorks, a citation management software program free to faculty, students, and staff. The workshop will cover details of how to share files, search in your RefWorks database, and create RSS feeds. (Prerequisite: basic knowledge of RefWorks)
Location: BLCC Computer Lab PC Lab1, (lower level of Bobst Library)
[Advanced RefWorks tutorial]

Making Blackboard Work for Graduate Students

Thurs. Oct. 25, 2007

How do I convert Slides into images? How do I create PDF’s for inclusion into Blackboard? How do I include video and audio in my Blackboard page? What about copyright compliance? This workshop will take you through these applications and more.
Location: BLCC Computer Lab PC Lab1 (lower level of Bobst Library)
[Workshop Handout (pdf)]

Academic Research with Google

Wed. Nov. 14, 2007

Use the advanced features in Google to explore the possibilities for uncovering high quality online scholarly resources. We will make comparisons to relevant electronic subscription resources where possible, so that you can make the most of your research online.
Location: BLCC Computer Lab PC Lab 2, (lower level of Bobst Library)
[Google Handout (pdf)]

2006 Inaugural Graduate Student Workshops

Wed. Nov. 14, 2006
Sat. Sept. 23, 2006
Thu. Sept. 28, 2006
Sat. Oct. 7, 2006
Wed. Oct. 11, 2006
Mon. Oct. 16, 2006

Hands-on experience with some of the general periodical databases which contain many full-text scholarly articles.
Alerting Service: Your Personal Automated Research Assistant Wouldn’t it be nice to have a research assistant who could do things like search databases and let you know when something relevant to your field of interest appears? Or to deliver tables of contents of your favorite journals the moment they’re available? Increasingly, online databases perform these tasks by repeating searches at specified intervals (daily, weekly, etc.) and delivering the results via email. In this hands-on workshop, we’ll explore databases that offer various types of alerting services.
Using Citation Management Programs: Introduction to Refworks The task of organizing references and compiling bibliographies can be daunting, but the modern researcher has access to software programs that can facilitate the process; one of these programs -- RefWorks -- is provided by the Library at no cost to NYU users. In this hands-on workshop, participants will learn how to import citations from library catalogs and other bibliographic databases and generate formatted bibliographies with RefWorks.
Location: BLCC Computer Lab PC Lab 2, (lower level of Bobst Library)

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait