Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

NYU Global Library Services 

Last update: Oct 13th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/global  Print Guide  RSS Updates

For Students             Print Page
  
 

Did you know?

You can send us questions.

Email a question to AskALibrarian and we'll get back to you asap.

Librarian Experts

NYU Libraries has 28 subject librarians who develop the Libraries' collection and provide advanced research assistance – in person and via e-mail.

Avoid Plagiarism

Information that you find on the internet, journal articles, books, etc. is someone else's intellectual property. Make your own ideas the focus of your paper. Any words, ideas, or original research that are not your own must be cited, even if you summarize it in your own words. When in doubt, cite the source!

 

Seven Ways to Find Books & Articles

NYU Libraries main website can be overwhelming! Here are some suggested resources to help get you started with your research.

  • eBrary  
    NYU Libraries' largest collection of online books. Titles are very current and span all disciplines. By signing in, you can create a personal bookshelf, take notes, highlight text, etc.
  • ProQuest  
    Great for beginning researchers, this is a good general source for newspaper, magazine and journal articles on a wide range of topics.
  • Articles & Databases via BobCat  
    Save time by simultaneously searching across several databases at one time; choose "Quick-sets" of general indexes, art, literature, etc.
  • Scholarly Articles in a specific subject area  
    NYU Libraries has 1,000 databases organized alphabetically, by subject, and by general category. For example: PsycInfo indexes 2,400 psychology journals, Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world from 1450, etc.
  • Quick facts and background information  
    Dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, writing guides, almanacs, statistics, and other online reference tools. The "Dictionaries" category includes the Oxford English Dictionary and many foreign language dictionaries.
  • E-Journals  
    If you have an article citation and want to locate the full-text, search for the JOURNAL TITLE first, then navigate to the year, issue and pages for the article you need. You can also browse and search across all available issues of individual journals.
  • Google Scholar  
    Customize Google Scholar in order to automatically link to content owned by NYU Libraries. Use "Scholar Preferences" and enter "New York University Libraries - Get at NYU" in the Find Libraries search box; be sure to save your preferences.
 

NYU Study Abroad website

 NYU's Study Abroad website  contains very useful information about Study Abroad programs, country information, other student's experiences and tips and many more.

 
 

Time in New York

 

Where's the Full Text?

Are you in an article database?  Click on the NYU icon:       next to a citation.  This will give you options for:

  • linking to full text of the article if available
  • checking the Bobcat catalog for hard copy holdings of the article
  • ordering a copy from Interlibrary loan, if not available full text or hard copy


Do you have a citation for an article obtained from another source, and you want to locate full text?

  • Search Ejournals/Ebooks for your journal title.
  • You can also search the journal title in the Bobcat catalog. Often, older citations are available hard copy in the library, if not available as an electronic journal.
  • If the journal title is not found in one of the above, you may order a copy of the article via Interlibrary Loan.
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait