Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Bibliographic and footnote style guide  Tags: citations mla apa chicago bibliographies style_guide works_cited  

This guide provides citation and bibliography assistance. Includes APA, MLA, and Chicago style examples.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/citations  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Formatting Tools             Print Page
  
 

Citation Building Tools

  • Automatically Formatting a Citation Using SFX: A formatting tool is part of the "Get at NYU" sfx link. 
    Click on the red/gray NYU icon next to a citation in a database:     
    Select: More Options, Save and Format this Citation.
    The Capture Citation box will open and allow you to select the citation style of your choice. Click GO. 
    A reformatted citation will be displayed.  Remember to proofread the citation for errors, capitalization, and italics. See how using this help sheet.
  • RefWorks  
    Free (to the NYU community) Web-based program you can use to organize your research. Enter citations as you work, import references retrieved from online bibliographic databases, and create bibliographies in a variety of formats.
  • EndNote  
    Desktop software for managing bibliographic citations. Allows you to import references from online bibliographic databases, organize them in your EndNote database, and create bibliographies in a variety of formats.
  • Zotero  
    Firefox extension designed for the Firefox browser (Mac and PC). Free online reference management and authoring.
  • KnightCite  
    Free and simple online citation building tool from Hekman Library at Calvin College. Builds citations in APA, MLA, and Chicago styles.
  • Noodle Bib Express  
    Just need one or two quick citations? Format your bibliography in MLA, APA, or Chicago/Turabian style. No need to log in or subscribe -- simply generate them in NoodleBib Express and copy and paste what you need into your document.
  • ProCite  
    Research and reference management software with similiar features to Refworks and Endote. NYU community members can get ProCite from the NYU Computer Bookstore at an academic discount.
  • Bibliographic Software Comparison Chart  
    Confused about which citation management software is best for you? Use this comparison chart created by the NYU Libraries.
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait