Citing Sources with MLA Style
For quick guidelines for applying MLA style, consult a concise and free resource available through the World Wide Web: The Owl at Purdue.
Below are examples of basic MLA style formatting for a Works Cited page (bibliography) as well as in-text parenthetical citations. For official information on how to cite your sources, there are two resources:
-
The first book covers fundamental style and is best for essays and quick reference: MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th Edition.
-
The second resource is more detailed and is recommended for graduate study and publication: MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd Edition.
For more information on software that helps incorporatin MLA style into your writing, see Reading and Writing Tools.
Citing PRINT Sources, MLA
| In Works Cited |
Parenthetical |
|
| Book: 1 Author | Wharton, Edith. Ethan Frome. New York: Penguin Books, 2005. Print. |
(Wharton 37) |
| Book: 2-3 Authors |
Gillespie, Paula, and Neal Lerner. The Allyn and Bacon Guide to Peer Tutoring. Boston: Allyn & Bacon, 2000. Print. |
(Gillespie and Lerner 231) |
| Book: More Than 3 Authors | Gilman, Sandor L., et al. Hysteria Beyond Freud. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1993. Print. [NOTE: there is no period after the "et" in "et al."] | (Gilman et al. 33-46) |
| Book: Corporation, Group, or Association as Author | New York Fire Department Benevolent Association. Official Manual and Register. New York: 1909. Print. |
(New York Fire Department Benevolent Association 5-6) |
| Book: Editor, Translator, or Compiler (instead of author) | O'Donoghue, Bernard, trans. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight. New York: Penguin, 2006. Print. | (O'Donoghue 12) |
| Book: Editor, Translator, or Compiler (in addition to author) | Foucault, Michel. Madness and Civilization: A History of Insanity in the Age of Reason. Trans. Richard Howard. New York: Vintage, 1973. Print. |
(Foucault 99) |
| Book: Preface, Foreword, Afterword, Introduction, or Similar Part | Rich, Adrienne. Introduction. The Work of a Common Woman: The Collected Poetry of Judy Grahn, 1964-1977. By Judy Grahn. New York: St. Martin's Press, 1980. v-xxxii. Print. |
(Rich vii) |
| Book: Essays or Chapters in a Collection |
Baumbach, Noah. "The Zagat History of My Last Relationship." Secret Ingredients: The New Yorker Book of Food and Drink. Ed. David Remnick. New York: Random House, 2007. 409-411. Print. |
(Baumbach 410) |
| Book: Subsequent Edition | Crowley, Sharon and Debra Hawhee. Ancient
Rhetorics for Contemporary Students. 3rd ed. New York:
Pearson/Longman, 2004. Print. |
(Crowley and Hawhee 321) |
| Government Document | United States. Cong. Senate. Committee on Energy and Natural Resources. Hearing on the Geopolitics of Oil. 110th Cong., 1st sess. Washington: GPO, 2007. [GPO is the abbreviation for Government Printing Office in Washington, D.C., and may be used in citations. Its British counterpart is HMSO, Her (or His) Majesty's Stationery Office in London.] Print. | (Hearing on the Geopolitics of Oil 2007) |
| Article in a Reference Book (e.g., Encyclopedia) |
[NOTE: treat an encyclopedia entry as you would a piece in a collection--see above-- but do not cite the editor of the reference book. If Article has an author (may be initials at the end), give the author first; if the Article is unsigned, give the title first. See MLA Handbook for more details.] "Ginsburg, Ruth Bader." Who's Who in America. 56th ed. 2002. Print. "Noon." Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. 10th ed. 1994. Print. |
(Who's Who in America 2002) |
| Journal Article, 1 Author | Gallin, Joshua Hojvat. "The Long-Run Relationship Between House Prices and Income: Evidence From Local Housing Markets." Real Estate Economics 34 (2006): 417-438. Print. | (Gallin 422) |
| Journal Article, 2 Authors | Collard, Scott, and Tempelman-Kluit, Nadaleen. "The Other Way In: Goal-Based Library Content Through CMS." Internet Reference Services Quarterly 11.4 (2006): 55-68. Print. | (Collard and Tempelman-Kluit 63) |
| Popular Magazine Article |
Author(s). "Title of Article." Title of Periodical Day Month Year:
pages. medium. Hertzberg, Hendrik. "Eight Is Enough." The New Yorker 1 Dec. 2008: 27. Print. |
(Hertzberg 27) |
| Newspaper Article: 1 author |
Rich, Frank. "It Still Felt Good the Morning After." New York Times 9 Nov. 2008 late ed.: WK9. Print. |
(Rich 9) |
| Newspaper Article: Local Paper |
Behre, Robert. "Presidential Hopefuls Get Final Crack at Core of S.C.
Democrats." Post and Courier [Charleston, SC] 29 Apr. 2007:
A11. Print. |
(Behre 11) |
| Newspaper Article: Anonymous Author | "Honest Abe, Reborn." The Economist 15 Jan. 2009: 12. Print. |
("Honest Abe, Reborn" 12) |
| Book Review (No title or signed author) |
Rev. of Anthology of Danish Literature, ed. F.J. Billeskov Jansen and P.M. Mitchell. Times Literary Supplement 7 July 1972: 785. Print. |
(Rev. of Anthology 785) |
| Thesis or Dissertation (Published and Unpublished) |
[NOTE: cite a published dissertation as you would a book, but add the pertinent dissertation information before Publication information. If the work was published by University Microfilms International (UMI), you may add the order number as supplementary information.] Published: Smith, William Scott. "The Placement of Inexperienced Teachers in New Jersey High Schools in Relation to Their Academic Preparation." Diss. New York University, 1938. New York: New York University, 1938. Print. Unpublished: Enclose the title of an unpublished dissertation in quotation marks; do not underline it. To cite a master's thesis, substitute the appropriate label (e.g., MA thesis or MS thesis) for Diss. |
(Smith 24) |
| Conference Proceeding or Meeting Paper |
[NOTE:
cite the published paper or proceedings of a conference as you would a book, but add the pertinent information about the conference before publication information. Cite a presentation in the proceedings like a work in a collection (see above.)] Chang, Steve S., Lily Liaw, and Josef Ruppenhofer, eds. Proceedings of the Twenty-Fifth Annual Meeting of the Berkeley Linguistics Society, February 12-15, 1999: General Session and Parasession on Loan Word Phenomena. Berkeley: Berkeley Linguistics Society, 2000. Print. |
(Chang 38) |
| Advertisement |
Positively Smooth Shave Gel by Aveeno. Advertisement. Allure. Nov. 2008: 46. Print. [NOTE: citation should include the name of the product and company, followed by the descriptive label "Advertisement' neither underlined or in quotation marks.] |
|
| Audiovisual Materials |
[NOTE: citations for film, video, and sound recordings may differ based on your desired emphasis. Please see complete MLA Handbook for further information.] Annie Hall. Dir. Woody Allen. Perf. Woody Allen and Diane Keaton. 1977. MGM Home Entertainment, 2005. DVD. Ellington, Duke, cond. First Carnegie Hall Concert. Duke Ellington Orchestra. Rec. 23 Jan. 1943. Prestige, 1977. LP. Lekman, Jens. "I'm Leaving You Because I Don't Love You." Night Falls Over Kortedala. Secretly Canadian, 2004. CD. |
(Annie Hall) (Ellington) ("I'm Leaving You Because I Don't Love You") |
Citing ELECTRONIC Sources, MLA
| In Works Cited |
Parenthetical |
|
| Web Page |
"Hanging Out with the Wacky 'Flight of the Conchords.'" CNN.com. 2009. Cable New Network. 27 January 2009 [NOTE: As of 2009, URLs are no longer required unless the citation does not easily lead the reader to the source. |
Coming Soon |
| Entire Website |
Carleton.edu. 2009. Carleton College. 8 January 2009 Library Jargon Defined. Ed. Beth Brin. 2006. Albertsons Library, Boise State University. 25 January 2009 Geology and Geophysics. Dept. home page. University of Utah. 28 December 2009 |
Coming Soon |
| Electronic Book |
Didion, Joan. The Year of Magical Thinking. New York: Knopf/Random House, 2005. eBrary Database. 20 January 2009 |
(Didion 99) |
| Journal Article from Library Database | Berger, James D. and Helmut J. Schmidt. “Regulation of Macronuclear DNA Content in Paramecium Tetraurelia.” The Journal of Cell Biology 76.1 (1978): 116-126. JSTOR. Web. 20 Nov. 2008. | Coming Soon |
| Journal Article from Online-Only Publication | Kessl, Fabian, and Nadia Kutsche. “Rationalities, Practices, and Resistance in Post-Welfarism. A Comment on Kevin Stenson.” Social Work & Society 6.1 (2008): n. pag. Web. 10 Oct. 2008. | Coming Soon |
| Image Found Online (e.g., photograph, painting, sculpture) | Schiele, Egon. Girl With Black Hair. 1911. Museum of Modern Art, New York. 19 January 2009 |
Coming Soon |
| Television or Radio Program | Keillor, Garrison. A Pairie Home Companion. With Edgar Meyer. 13 Dec. 2008. American Public Media. 28 January 2009 |
(Keillor) |
|
[NOTE: MLA style capitalizes the "e" in E-mail and includes a hyphen.] |
[Email:] Author. "Title of the message." E-mail to person's name. Date message. [Email to you:] Author. "Title of the message." E-mail to the author. Date of message. |
(Author Date) |
| Blog Entry | See MLA 2008, 6.7.2 |
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait