Welcome!
This is a selective guide to some of the many resources available for the study of Irish and Anglo-Irish Literature, Film, and Theatre at NYU. This page will be your gateway to books, journal articles, and web resources. If you have any problems, just click on the Chat with me link, email me or just stop by my office. I'm here to help!
Here are a few other subject guides that will be of interest to you:
Search BobCat
Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.
Google Scholar
Search other catalogs
Subject headings
Subject headings are words and phrases which consitiute a "controlled vocabulary" to categorize books by subject field. Subject headings often indicate the contents of books in terms that their titles do not use, which often may be very general. Subject headings in online databases are often referred to as descriptors, but they serve the same purpose in locating valuable resources. Using a "keyword" search will identify catalog entries that contain those specific terms which can add value to a search; however, the terms can be found anywhere - author, notes, publisher, etc. - therefore there is no indication of the value of the term(s) as content matter of the items in a results list.
Use general subject headings for searching a broad topic or more specific subject headings for a specific text, film, or play. You will find (more) headings specific to the subject category within the left-hand facets in our online catalog, Bobcat. If you want to see the subject headings for a specific title, click on the "details" link in the title record. Here are some you may want to try:
Literature:
Ireland--Fiction
Ireland - Literary Collections
Authors, Irish
English fiction--Irish authors
English literature - Irish authors
English literature - Irish authors - history and criticism
Literature and history--Ireland
Irish literature--20th century
Film:
Motion pictures - Ireland - History
Ireland - In motion pictures
Film genres - Ireland
Documentary films - Ireland - History and criticism
Motion pictures - Ireland - 21st century - History and criticism
Theatre:
Theatre - Ireland
English drama - Irish authors - history and criticism
Irish drama - 20th century
Irish drama - History and criticism
Theatre - Ireland - History - 20th century
Theatre and globalization - Ireland - History - 20th century
Irish Resources in the Humanities
Irish Resources in the Humanities was developed in 1999 by Dr. Susan Schreibman as a Gateway to sites on the World Wide Web that contain substantial content in the various disciplines of the humanities in the area of Irish Studies.
Reference Associate |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Links: Profile & Guides |
Finding Biographical Information
- Biography Reference BankContains biographical information on approximately half a million people, from antiquity to the present. Dates of coverage: Ancient Times to present.
- Biography in ContextOnline biographical reference database in the fields of literature, science, business, entertainment, politics, sports, history, current events and the arts.Biographical information on over one million people throughout history, around the world.
- The Dictionary of Irish BiographyThe Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, contains over 9,000 signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavor, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
New York Irish Center

The New York Irish Center is a community center in Long Island City, where a warm elcome awaits the Irish in the region and, in true Irish spirit, all those who wish to be with us.


Loading...
