Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

RefWorks 

RefWorks is a bibliographic citation management tool.
Last update: Feb 17th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/refworks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Bibliographies & Citations             Print Page
  
 

Creating a Bibliography from a List of References

  1. Click the Bibliography button in the navigation bar.
  2. Choose the Output style you wish to use from the drop down list.
  3. Select Format a Bibliography from a List of References.
  4. Choose the file type you'd like to create (HTML, Word, etc.).
  5. Choose which references to include (Either All, those stored to My List, or the citations from a particular folder in your database).
  6. Click the Create Bibliography button at the bottom of the page.
  7. The formatted bibliography should appear in a few seconds.
  8. Proofread the bibliography for any errors.
 

Using Write-N-Cite

As you write, you can generate in-text citations and bibliographies from your database of references by using Write-N-Cite.In order to use this feature, you must first download the Write-N-Cite utility from the Tools pull-down menu. The utility is compatible with Windows and Macintosh platforms.

Creating In-Text Citations with Write-N-Cite

  1. Open a new blank document in Microsoft Word.
  2. Launch Write-N-Cite.
  3. Position the cursor in your Microsoft Word document where the reference should be inserted; click Cite next to the appropriate reference in the RefWorks window.
  4. Save your Microsoft Word document when finished.

Creating a Bibliography with Write-N-Cite

  1. Launch Write-N-Cite.
  2. Click on Bibliography.
  3. Select the appropriate output style.
  4. Click on Create Bibliography.
  5. A new window will open with the re-formatted Microsoft Word document containing the bibliography.
  6. Save your Microsoft Word document.
 

Using One Line/Cite View

Creating In-Text Citations with One Line/Cite View

  1. Open your document in Microsoft Word.
  2. Position the cursor where the reference should be inserted within your Word document. (If you want the citation to appear in a footnote or endnote, first create the footnote/endnote number in your word-processing program then place your cursor just to the right of the number.)
  3. In RefWorks, select One Line/Cite View from the Switch to: drop-down menu.
  4. Click the Cite link next to the desired reference. A Citation Viewer window will open with the citation formatted in double brackets. The number to the left of the author's name is the reference number (Ref ID) RefWorks uses to identify this citation within your RefWorks account.
  5. Click the Select Citation button in the Citation Viewer window.
  6. From the Edit menu in Citation Viewer, select Copy (Ctrl-C) and then paste the citation into your Word document. Alternatively, you can drag and drop the citation into your document.
  7. Click on Clear in Citation Viewer before creating your next citation.
  8. Save your Microsoft Word document.

NOTE: Some citation styles require that a specific page be included in an in-text citation or that the author name be left out of the citation if the name is included in the text. RefWorks cannot determine a specific page number for a reference or know when an author name is in the text. You can, however, manually instruct the program to exclude or include certain items in the citation through the use of in-text switches. Visit the RefWorks guide to Modifying an In-Text Citation or Footnote for further information about this process.

Creating a Bibliography and Formatting a Paper with One Line/Cite View

  1. In RefWorks, click Under Document to Format and select the file for your paper.
  2. choose the appropriate Output Style from the list and select Format Paper and Bibliography.
  3. Under Document to Format, select the file for your paper. NOTE: Your paper must be saved as a .doc, .docx, .odt or .rtf file in order for RefWorks to be able to read and format it.
  4. Click Create Bibliography. RefWorks creates a new document formatted in the selected style followed by a bibliography (even if you have used Write-N-Cite III to insert the temporary citation placedholders).
  5. Follow your browser's instructions for viewing the file and be sure to save the document before closing. Your original document remains the same as it was before you formatted it. NOTE: If you need to revise your document, add more references, etc., be sure to do so in the original document (not the Final document).
  6. Check your bibliography for accuracy.

Instructions adapted from RefWorks.

 

Working Offline to Manually Create In-Text Citations and Bibliographies

  1. Log in to your RefWorks account.
  2. Select References, Export.
  3. Select All References, My List or a Folder of references to export.
  4. Select Citation List as the Export Format.
  5. Click Export; a new window will open with a citation list. Save or print this list.
  6. Log-out of RefWorks.
  7. Select the spot in your paper where you want to insert citations.
  8. Enter an in-text citation placeholder by using two open curly brackets {{ followed by a reference ID number followed by two close curly brackets }}. For example: {{34}} for Ref ID number 34.
  9. Save your paper when finished.
  10. To format your bibliography, log in to RefWorks.
  11. Select Bibliography from the toolbar.
  12. Select the desired output style.
  13. Browse to find your paper.
  14. Click Create Bibliography.

Instructions adapted from RefWorks.

 

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait