Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

RefWorks 

RefWorks is a bibliographic citation management tool.
Last update: Feb 17th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/refworks  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Managing References             Print Page
  
 

Sorting References

  1. From either the View or Folders pull-down menu, select a folder or group of references.
  2. Using the Sort by pull-down menu, choose to view references by an assortment of database fields, e.g. Author, Title, Publication year, reference creation date, etc.
 

Viewing References

Several different ways to display references. Displays are customizable with the Customize option under the Tools pull-down menu.

To switch between display options when viewing All References or references within a folder, select an output style from the Switch To pull-down menu.

Options available:

  • Standard View (includes Author, Year, Title)
  • One Line/Cite View
  • Full View (includes all fields)
  • Three customizable output style views (i.e. APA, MLA, or Chicago)
 

Using Folders to Organize References

Creating Folders

You can create as many folders as you'd like. To create a folder:

  1. From the pull-down Folders menu, choose Create New Folder
  2. Enter a name in New Folder Name; click OK.

Putting References into Folders

References can be assigned to multiple folders.

  1. From the Search pull-down menu, look for references you have already added to your RefWorks database.
  2. Mark desired references from the search results page, then click the Selected button. NOTE: The selected references feature works on a page-by-page basis, i.e. you must add the selected references to the desired folder before continuing to the next page of results. Alternatively, you can mark all on a Page or All in List.
  3. Select folder from Put in Folder drop-down menu.

Note: Make sure to allow pop-ups in your browser while using RefWorks.

 

Globally Editing References

The Global Edit feature is particularly useful for adding information to records imported from online databases missing key fields necessary for a specific bibliographic output style.

  1. From the View pull-down menu, select All References or a folder of references. You can also select reference to edit globally from a list of search results.
  2. Select the references you wish to edit.
  3. Click on Global Edit.
  4. Choose the specific field to edit from the drop-down list.
  5. Type in the data you want to add to the field in the Change Field to: box.
  6. Select the appropriate option for handling the field:
  • Append to Existing Data
  • Overwrite Existing Data (what is currently in the field will be deleted)
  • Leave Existing Data Alone (skips over records that already contain data in the chosen field)
  1. Click OK.

 

 

Sharing Folders with Other Users

In the Folders menu of every NYU RefWorks account there is an option to Share Folders. When you share a folder, you get a unique URL to that folder which you can share with anyone who has web access. Outside users will have READ ONLY access to the database, but will be able to sort, search and export citations in a wide variety of output styles (MLA, APA, etc.)

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait