Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Admin Sign In 

Education Resources - Overview 

On overview of the resources available for researchers in the field of education, broadly defined.
Last update: Oct 27th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/education  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

About this page

The article literature is central to the work of both education researchers and practicioners. The article databases listed here allow you to search the contents of thouands of journals simultaneously. If you had to choose only one to know well, it would be ERIC, the central database from the department of education. We subscribe to ERIC in a few formats, but I suggest starting with the combined ERIC/Ed Fulltext database for the widest possible coverage.

 

3 things to remember!

When using article databases, remember there are always three stages in your workflow (the "three Ds"):

1) Discovery: Do (and redo!) your searching, using varying terms and combining using the Boolean operators "and, or, not" to get good results. Your first search is not your best search, but rather an opportunity to learn how to immediately do a better search

2) Delivery: For items that you like, select the link to the fulltext if available, or click on the button to see if we own the item. If you want to keep this item, either save it to your own computer, email it to yourself, or print it.

3) Database it: Keep the "meta-information" about all that good resources you found for your records and to make your bibliographies. You will find yourself returning to resources so having a system in place will save you time and aggravation later. The NYU Libraries offer a number of tools to our users to help with this, in particular a tool called RefWorks, which you can learn about here.

 

Article Databases

To access the electronic resources on this list, click on the name below. If off campus, you will be asked for your NYU NetID and Password (same as NYUHome) and then sent into the database.

  • Education Fulltext & ERIC  
    The two main databases in education, fully searchable together, via one interface. Provides citations to educational materials in well over 1,000 journals and thousands of non-journal sources
  • PsycINFO  
    Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Worldwide coverage of over 1300 journals in over 20 languages, as well as books and chapters in books in the English language.
  • PAIS  
    An excellent resource for policy issues related to education. International in scope, with good coverage of journal resources as well as "gray literature" like government information.
  • Lexis/Nexis Newspapers  
    Local issues in education may never be covered in the scholarly journal literature, but there may be articles in the news sources of that locality. Lexis/Nexis supplies access to content of thousands of news sources around the country (and world!).
 

Librarian For Education

Profile ImageScott Collard


Contact Info:
Bobst Library
70 Washington Square South
6th floor, #604
IM: scollard2001
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Linguistics

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait