Mental Measurements Yearbook
MMY provides original reviews of and citations to articles about mostly
commercially available educational, psychological, and vocational tests.
Although called a "yearbook" new editions usually are published every
two or three years. The online version begins in 1989 and is updated more
frequently than the print editions (see below in Section
3 for the print edition).
Steps and Tips for Searching
- Be sure to vary your terms when searching, as
many tests are known by multiple names, or their acronyms, and MMY isn't
able to cross check for variations.
- To make your search more exact, try the advanced
search option and search for the test title only within the citation
field.
If
you do not find the test you are looking for, you might want to rerun your
search via the Buros
website (http://buros.unl.edu/buros/jsp/search.jsp). If you find the test
via this route, look at the bottom of the record for the test and it will tell
you which printed volume of MMY the review appeared in; you can then find it in
our printed copies of MMY.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
1985-present, with many earlier measures. HaPI indexes the use of tests
and measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules,
checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective
techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in journal literature in a variety of
fields including public health, nursing, psychology, human resources,
sociology, and communication. Records are indexed according to the MeSH subject
headings and the Thesaurus of Psychological
Index Terms (Ref1 Desk Z695.1 P7 T48 2004).
Steps and Tips for Searching
- To find only those articles that contain the
actual instrument, limit by checking the "Primary Source " box.
- To search by author name, enter the author's
last name and first initial in the search box, and then click the author
icon above; you will be taken to a list of author names, where you can
select all that are appropriate to your search.
In some cases, you can order more information or the instrument itself by contacting the Behavioral Measurement Database Services at bmdshapi@aol.com; materials available through this method will contain a note within the abstract.
CINAHL
CINAHL Plus
An index of the literature of nursing and the allied health professions. Sometimes, a search of CINAHL turns up an article where the test or survey instrument is not only mentioned, but re-printed. If the instrument itself is indexed in CINAHL Plus it will have the Publication Type "research instrument" (e.g., Brief Pain Inventory). Similarly, one can perform a search and Limit to the Publication Type "research instrument." The Instrumentation (IT) field in a record includes the names of instruments used in research studies indexed by CINAHL. To search for articles with instrument names, enter the most unique word or phrase in the name, for example search: pain in the Instrumentation field.
-
From the CINAHL Plus main search page, type a word or phrase into the text box, then use the dropdown menu to specify the "IN Instrumentation" field.
-
Click on "Search."
-
The resulting set of documents will all contain the word or phrase searched in the Instrumentation field of each record.
PsycINFO via Ovid
An index of publications that the APA examines regularly to identify
psychologically relevant material, including journal articles, dissertations,
reports, English-language book chapters and books, and other scholarly
documents. The TM field ["tests and measures" field] contains the
names of published tests and measures mentioned in the source document. This
field may contain multiple tests or measures.
Steps and Tips for Searching
- From the main PsycINFO search page, select the
"More Fields" icon above the search button.
- Enter a word or phrase in the text entry box,
(e.g. "bereavement"); scroll down and make a check mark next to
the field "tm: Tests and Measures."
- Click on "perform search."
The
resulting set of documents will all contain the word or phrase searched in the
Tests and Measures field of each record.
ERIC via CSA
ERIC - Educational Resources Information Clearinghouse - is a complete
bibliography of educational materials available since 1966. Indexes published
and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics, with information
from RIE (Resources in Education) and CIJE (Current Index to Journals in
Education), and including materials focused on every aspect of educational
testing.
Steps and Tips for Searching
- From the front screen, look under “more search
options.”
- Under “ERIC Indexes and Limits,” find the “publications”
box.
- Paste 160 tests/questionnaires into
the box.
- When you run a search, the results will be
limited only to those which make some use of identifiable tests and/or
questionnaires.
Subject Librarian |
Kara Whatley, Life Sciences LibrarianOffice: Bobst Library Room 936
Phone: 212-998-2624
Send Email
Subjects:
Biology, Neuroscience, Nutrition, Environmental Science, Public Health
Reference Associate |
Jill ConteColes Science Center
9th floor, Bobst Library
Office: Room 962
Phone: 212.998.2622
Send Email
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait