International Sources
- World Health Organization Data and Statistics
Provides access to statistical information about health issues around the world. Data sets are not available here, but tables may be generated from available online data.
National Sources
- American FactFinder
This website is the Census Bureau's primary vehicle for distributing the 2000 Census of Population and Housing, 1997 Economic Census, and American Community Survey. Currently includes 1990 Census Quick and Detailed Tables, American Community Survey - Center for Disease Control Data and Statistics
- ChildStats.gov
Summary information on many issues surrounding children and children’s health in the United States. Choose “data source descriptions” for more information about and links to original data.
Includes interactive tools, surveys, publications, vital statistics and more. - Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health
Access site for public data on the health and health-related services for children, youth, and families in the United States. Provides hands-on access to national, state, and regional data findings as well as Provides hands-on access to national, state, and regional data findings as well as technical assistance in the collection and use of this data. - • Department of Homeland Security Immigration Statistics
Data on refugees, permanent residents, and naturalized citizens. Some information is presented in PDF report format, but any links labeled “data” provide access to Excel spreadsheets of data. Click the "data and statistics link" to access US immigration maps. - Environmental Protection Agency
Office of Children’s Health Protection & Environmental Education. Choose "scientific data and methods" link. - National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
- National Center for Health Statistics Health Data Interactive
Presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns. - National Hospital Discharge Data
- National Survey of Children’s Health
Provides both searchable data (results are tables/charts) and survey instrument information, including questions. - U.S. Census Bureau
Home page of the Bureau of the Census. Provides access to a wide variety of finding tools for Census data and publications, as well as links to related information from other agencies. - • Department of Education: National Center for Education Statistics
- U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
o Administration for Children & families
o Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
o Maternal and Child Health Bureau
o National Institute of Child Health & Human Development
o National Institute of Mental Health
o Substance Abuse - U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development
Office of Policy Development & Research Data Sets - U.S. Department of Justice Bureau of Justice Statistics
- U.S. Department of Justice National Institute of Justice
- U.S. Department of Justic Office of Juvenile Justice & Delinquency Prevention
- U.S. Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics
- U.S. Department of Labor Women’s Bureau
- U.S. Department of Transportation
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
State
- New York State Census Data
Census Data provided by the New York State Data Center - New York Census Research Data Center
The New York Census Research Data Center provides access to Census data in secure facilities. - Vital statistics of New York State
City
- New York City Department of City Planning
Provides demographic statistics about New York City - New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene
- New York City Department of Health & Mental Hygiene EpiQuery
* Community Health Survey
* Youth Risk Behavior Survey
* Vital Statistics
* Census
* SPARCS - New York City Mayor’s Office of Immigrant Affairs
- New York City Census FactFinder
The New York City Census FactFinder provides quick and easy access to population information from the 2000 U.S. Census. - New York City Community Boards
- Bytes of the Big Apple
BYTES of the BIG APPLE is a family of software, data and geographic base map files for the City of New York. The Department of City Planning offers these products for free download or by a license agreement. - NYU- School of Medicine – Center for Immigrant Health
Aggregations
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research)
(1962-Present) The world’s largest archive of social sciences data. Allows you to search for data sets as well as for publications based on the archived data.
Data Tools
Tools for Analyzing Data
Once you’ve downloaded a data
set, you will need to begin analyzing that data, and to do that you will need
to use statistical software. Below is
information on three software packages supported by the NYU Data Services
Studio. Located on the 6th
floor of Bobst Library, the Data Services Studio offers tutorials and
consultations to help you work with your data.
R Statistical Package
SAS
SPSS
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait