Statistics/Data Sets
-
MEDLINE via PubMed
Indexes medical and life sciences publications from the United States and 70 other countries. May be searched with MeSH or keyword. Articles published in languages other than English are listed with their titles in brackets. NOTE: This database is freely available to all users at http://pubmed.gov. However, you will not be able to access NYU's electronic article subscriptions unless you access PubMed via one of the following links:
For NetID logins: Click here
For KID logins: Click here -
MEDLINE via Ovid (NYU subscription resource)
For NetID logins: Click here
For KID logins: Click hereMEDLINE Strategy: Perform search on disease topic and limit to the subheading "epidemiology" e.g., Obesity/ep. Epidemiology is used with diseases for the distribution of disease, the factors which cause disease, and the attributes of disease in defined populations. Includes incidence, frequency, prevalence, endemic and epidemic outbreaks. Also includes surveys and estimates of morbidity in geographic areas and in specified populations. Excludes mortality (use "mortality").
CINAHL Plus (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) (NYU subscription resource)
For NetID logins: Click here
For KID logins: Click here
Indexes articles in journals in the nursing and allied health fields (therapy, medical technology, health care administration) and publications of the American Nurses' Association and National League for Nursing.
CINAHL Strategy: Perform search on topic, then use the Limit feature to limit by publication type "statistics." Try your search again, this time limiting to the subheading: "epidemiology," e.g., asthma/ep
Statistical Universe (Lexis-Nexis) (NYU subscription resource)
For NetID logins: Click here
For KID logins: Click here
Enter key words in "Search Tables" module[searches a subset of full text tables].
Use demographic and geographic limits to narrow your search or limit by publication date.
Link to help using Statistical Universe:
http://web.lexis-nexis.com/statuniv/form/stat/how_do_i.html
Tour of Lexis Nexis Statistical
http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/1univ/stat/pres1/default.asp
Use "Abstracts" module for more detailed searching.
GIDEON (Global Infectious Disease & Epidemiology Network) (NYU Subscription Resource)
NetID Users: you must be on site at Ehrman to use this resource
For KID Logins: Click here
GIDEON is useful for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical
and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial
chemotherapy. It includes information about over 300 diseases and 200
countries, as well as numerous interactive maps.
Search Strategies for Finding Health Statistics on the Open Web
- Think about who collects this type of information
- Use a search engine such as Google as a locating tool, then let the secondary source lead you to the primary source
- Is there a controlled vocabulary or standardized terminology? See Terminology section below
Terminology, Vocabulary, Classification Systems
CPT (Current Procedural Terminology)
Codes and
Resources Numbers used on insurance forms to describe the services
performed by healthcare professionals, published annually by the
American Medical Association in a Current Procedural Terminology: CPT,
formerly Physician's Current Procedural Terminology. Call Number: RB115
.C85 2006 [Ehrman Medical Library]
National Center for Health Statistics Definitions (free Web resource)
An alphabetical listing of many terms used at NCHS
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/datawh/nchsdefs/list.htm
World Health Organization International Classification of Diseases (ICD) tenth revision (free Web resource)
http://www.who.int/classifications/icd/en/index.html
"The ICD has become the international standard diagnostic classification for all general epidemiological and many health management purposes. It is used to classify diseases and other health problems recorded on many types of health and vital records including death certificates and hospital records. In addition to enabling the storage and retrieval of diagnostic information for clinical and epidemiological purposes, these records also provide the basis for the compilation of national mortality and morbidity statistics by WHO Member States."
ICD-9-CM is the official system of
assigning codes to diagnoses and procedures associated with hospital
utilization in the United States.
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/about/otheract/icd9/abticd9.htm.
The ICD-10 is used to code and classify mortality data
from death certificates, having replaced ICD-9 for this purpose as of
January 1, 1999.
Meta Sites for Public Health Statistics
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce (free Web resource)
http://phpartners.org/index.html
(A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries)
Health Data Tools and Statistics
http://phpartners.org/health_stats.html
Public Health and Information Tutorial for Health Statistics
http://phpartners.org/tutorial/03-hs/index.html
Links to State, Federal, and International Web Portals, Data Sets for Health Statistics
http://phpartners.org/tutorial/03-hs/3-sources/3.3.10.html
Selected US Government Publications for Health Statistics
http://phpartners.org/tutorial/03-hs/3-sources/3.3.9.html
World Health Statistics from globalhealth.gov, by the US Department of Health and Human Services (free Web resource)
http://www.globalhealth.gov/worldhealthstatistics.shtml
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait