International Documents ResourcesInternational Policy and Management ResourcesUS Government Resources
ListservesPodcastsRSS
BooksEncyclopedias/Reference ToolsGrey LiteratureJournal Article DatabasesStatistics/Data Sets
NYU Subject LibrariansPublic Health Tutorials
InformaticsPolicy and ManagementPreparedness
Data Analysis ToolsData SourcesHealth Test Instruments
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders

Public Health 

Public health aims to "fulfill society's interest in assuring conditions in which people can be healthy" (Institute of Medicine, Committee for the Study of the Future of Public Health, Division of Health Care Services. 1988. The Future of Public Health.
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/publichealth  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Journal Article Databases             Print Page
  
 

Search BobCat for Books, Articles, and More

Search here for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.

 

Search Databases for Journal Articles

In alphabetical order:

Business Monitor Online (NYU subscription resource; current coverage; some archives available)

    For NetID logins: Click here
    For KID logins: This is a Bobst resource; in order to access the site, you must be logged in to a campus computer.

Provides daily macroeconomic, financial and company news and analysis on emerging and key global markets. Includes political risk analysis, economic risk analysis, quarterly country forecasts, and risk ratings service.

 

CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) (NYU subscription resource; 1991 to present)

    For NetID logins: Click here
    For KID logins: This is a Bobst resource; in order to access the site, you must be logged in to a campus computer.

Comprehensive source of information on international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. Presented in sections that are updated with new material on a regular schedule: working papers, policy briefs, conference proceedings, and economic indicators are augmented every month; links, resources, schedule of events, and response files are updated weekly; and new journal issues and books are added as they become available.

 

CINAHL Plus (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) (NYU subscription resource)

Indexes articles in journals in the nursing and allied health fields (therapy, medical technology, health care administration) and publications of the American Nurses' Association and National League for Nursing.

 

EMBASE (NYU subscription resource, 1980-present)

A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in the following fields: drug research, pharmacology, pharmaceutics, toxicology, clinical and experimental human medicine, health policy and management, public health, occupational health, environmental health, drug dependence and abuse, psychiatry, forensic medicine, and biomedical engineering/instrumentation.

 

Global Health (NYU subscription resource; 1910 to present)

Indexes publications from more than 130 countries from around the world. Provides coverage of the following aspects of human health and disease: communicable diseases, tropical diseases, parasitic diseases, human nutrition, community and public health, medicinal and poisonous plants. Language of publication listed in brackets after the title.

 

GPO Monthly Catalog

  • Via FirstSearch (NYU subscription resource; July 1976 to Present)

    For NetID logins: Click here
    For KID logins: Click here

    Contains citations to federal government publications, including books, serials, recordings, maps, media, manuscripts, computer data files and software issued by Congress, the judiciary, executive departments, and agencies of the U.S. government.

  • Via Access (Freely available but non-recommended search interface; 1992 to Present)

    No NetID or KID necessary: Click here

    Contains citations to federal government publications, including books, serials, recordings, maps, media, manuscripts, computer data files and software issued by Congress, the judiciary, executive departments, and agencies of the U.S. government.


Health and Wellness Resource Center (NYU subscription resource)

For NetID logins: Click here
For KID logins: Click here

Provides access to medical, health, and wellness information Public Health workers and educators may determine as appropriate for consumers. Reading levels are assigned to certain publications to help health educators select appropriate materials. Contents include magazines, journals, and newsletters (1980 - present); Newspapers (1999 - present); Pamphlets (current year plus two years backfile); and Reference (latest edition), including the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

 

International Political Science Abstracts (NYU subscription resource; 1989 to present)

    For NetID logins: Click here
    For KID logins: This is a Bobst resource; in order to access the site, you must be logged in to a campus computer.

Indexes political science journal articles from around the world. Articles written in English are abstracted in English. Articles written in other languages are abstracted in French.

 

ISI Emerging Markets (NYU subscription resource; 2001 to present)

    For NetID logins: Click here
    For KID logins: This is a Bobst resource; in order to access the site, you must be logged in to a campus computer.

Provides company and industry information, financial market data, and macroeconomic analysis for more than 35 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America and Central and Eastern Europe.

 

Lexis/Nexis (NYU subscription resource; coverage varies)

Includes news, financial, medical, and legal publications. Much of the information here is full text. Includes foreign language news sources. Updated daily.

 

 Medline

  • Via PubMed (1950 to present)

    For NetID logins: Click here
    For KID logins: Click here

    Indexes medical and life sciences publications from the United States and 70 other countries. May be searched with MeSH or keyword. Articles published in languages other than English are listed with their titles in brackets. NOTE: This database is freely available to all users at http://pubmed.gov. However, you will not be able to access NYU's electronic article subscriptions unless you access PubMed via one of the following links:

  • Via OVID (NYU subscription resource; searchable as 1950-1964 and 1965 to present)

    For NetID logins: Click here
    For KID logins: Click here

    Indexes medical and life sciences publications from the United States and 70 other countries. Maybe searched using MeSH or keywords. Articles published in languages other than English are listed with their titles in brackets.

 

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) (NYU subscription resource; 1972 to present)

Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material published in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish from over 120 countries.

 

Popline (NYU subscription resource)

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides access to population information via several resources. Population information includes worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues, including family planning technology and programs, fertility, and population law and policy. The Johns Hopkins University Center for Communication Programs (JHU/CCP) Population Information Program (PIP) also provides access to population information via their JHU/CCP PIP database.

 

ProQuest (NYU subscription resource; coverage varies)

Searches ABI/Inform Global, ABI/Inform Trade & Industry, ABI/Inform Dateline; Periodical abstracts; Newspaper abstracts; and New York Times. Most articles are available in full text.

 

PsycINFO (NYU subscription resource; 1887 to present)

  • Via OVID

    For NetID logins: Click here
    For KID logins: Click here

    Provides citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.

  • Via CSA

    For NetID logins: Click here
    For KID logins: This is a Bobst resource; in order to access the CSA platform for PsycInfo, you must be logged in to a campus computer.

    Provides citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.

 

Toxnet (free Web resource)

A collection of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
Fact sheet at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/pubs/factsheets/toxnetfs.html

 

Web of Science (NYU subscription resource; 1900 to present for sciences, 1956 to present for social sciences)

Indexes journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities from more than 8,700 top journals. Provides a unique search method, cited reference searching, that allows users to navigate forward and backward through relevant by linking to the bibliographies of articles, helping users to uncover all the information relevant to their research. For a tutorial on using this database, visit http://www.isinet.com/tutorials/wos7

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait