Tamiment Library
Bobst Info
Search BobCat
Search for books, journals, videos, etc. in our local libraries and special collections.
Introduction
This research guide s designed to help researchers find information on U.S. labor history in NYU's Tamiment Library and beyond.
Tamiment Labor Collections Overview
The
Tamiment Library holds rich collections relating to labor and social history, the history of the Left, the place of workers in American society, and the evolution of labor law. It also holds
significant collections relating to women's history, immigrant history, and other topics.
Tamiment preserves the history of working-class New York City: its neighborhood associations, fraternal and ethnic societies, political organizations, and the unions that shaped the social and economic structure of the city.
The Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives is the designated repository for the records of the New York City Central Labor Council, its member unions and affiliated organizations.
Library holdings include hundreds of archival collections of personal papers and organizational records, more than forty collections of printed ephemera, approximately 75,000 books focusing on the history of labor, politics, political thought, literature and the arts, more than 80 oral history collections consisting of hundreds of recordings and transcripts, 10,000 non-current serial titles such as labor union convention proceedings, union journals, strike bulletins, underground newspapers, internal bulletins of radical organizations, and scholarly journals in labor and radical history, thousands of pamphlets in print and on microform, and rich visual collections of photographs, posters, political buttons and cartoons, film and video.
Follow the tabs in this guide to learn about the labor collections in the Tamiment Library and beyond.
Highlights from Tamiment's Button Collection
Tamiment Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Library Services
Please see the Research Visits / Library Services page on our website for information on using the Tamiment Library.
Note About this LibGuide
NYU Libraries acknowledges the work of Donna L. Davey, former Tamiment Librarian, as the original creator and author of the content of this LibGuide.




Loading...
