This guide is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and other topical and collection-related information in Television.
- Paley Center Seminars
The Paley Center Seminars is an exclusive video collection of interviews with celebrities, television crews, and distinguished panels. Topics covered range from presidential advertising campaigns to reality shos, from the writing process of “The Wire” and “Heroes” to Madeline Albright and Henry Henry Kissinger on the media and foreign policy.
TV by the Numbers launched in September 2007. The site was founded and is run by Bill Gorman and Robert Seidman, who have been friends since the early 1990s.
Our Publishing Schedule
Our Publishing schedule is entirely at the whim of our various data providers. If they are late, we are late.
That given, we should be able to hold to the following schedule for our regular features.
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
- Cinema Image Gallery
This database features an unparalleled range of pictures, posters, video clips, and other material from the world of film and television. Cinema Image Gallery documents the history of movie making through high-quality stills from film sets, and contains an extensive collection of television stills, featuring thousands of pictures taken on the set of from classic comedies, dramas, game shows and more. Database-specific search parameters developed specifically for this resource—Title, Director, Actor Names, Genre, Awards (Academy Award, Cannes Film Festival, Screen Actors Guild)—to ensure accuracy and speed in locating relevant material. Please send feedback to firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Connect With Kids
CWK is an instructional media company that produces documentary programs for television and evidenced-based, multimedia programs for schools with a focus on student behavior, parent engagement and social and emotional issues. Using the power of storytelling and peer-to-peer learning, Connect with Kids programs spark emotional connection and inspire positive behavior and cultural change. ** Sign Up and create your own user name and password, using the organization code. If you need that code, Please click the link on the Welcome page.
- March of Time
From 1935-1967, American theatergoers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc.'s unique and controversial newsreel series, The March of Time. Now this series is available in online streaming video in a single, cross-searchable collection designed specifically to meet the needs of researchers, teaching faculty, and students. The newsreels have been restored to their original luster by HBO Archives, allowing viewers to experience these historic newsreels as audiences did in earlier decades.
TV executive Lauren Zalaznick thinks deeply about pop television. Sharing results of a bold study that tracks attitudes against TV ratings over five decades, she makes a case that television reflects who we truly are -- in ways we might not have expected.