This is the "Home" page of the "Italian Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Italian Studies  

Library resources for information about Italian Studies, including language and literature.
Last Updated: Feb 18, 2014 URL: http://nyu.libguides.com/ItalianStudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Bobst Info

 

Call Numbers

For the most up to date call number locations in Bobst Library, see: http://library.nyu.edu/bobcat/callno

Related Research Guides

CulturaItalia

  • CulturaItalia
    CulturaItalia proposes a guided access to the world of Italian culture. Thanks to innovative IT solutions, the portal gathers and organises millions of informational elements on the resources that make up the country's vast cultural universe, and places them at the disposal of web users at large. The project is promoted and managed by the Ministry for Cultural Heritage and Activities (MiBAC) with the scientific consultation of the Scuola Normale Superiore of Pisa.
 

Benvenuti!

Italian Flag

© Image Credit: Dave Kellam, Flickr

This guide lists some of the more significant resources for Italian Studies. Click the tabs above for information about specific resources. 

Announcing MaRLI

Announcing MaRLI

The New York Public Library and the libraries of Columbia University and New York University have launched a pilot initiative to expand access and use of collections and better serve their users.  The collaboration, dubbed the Manhattan Research Library Initiative (MaRLI), will enable NYU and Columbia doctoral students, full-time faculty and librarians, and approved New York Public Library cardholders with a demonstrable research need not met by currently available resources, to borrow materials from all three institutions.

Other Library Catalogs

  • Casalini I Libri
    This resource will enable you to search for bibliographic information on secondary sources published in Italy. From this link you can also access the international version of the database. No full-text, but useful for tracing the work of Italian (and European) scholars.
  • Columbia University Libraries Catalog- CLIO
    Faculty and PhD students have full borrowing privileges at Columbia through MaRLI. Undergraduates and MA students have on-site access only.
  • COPAC
    This site allows you to search over 70 different libraries in the UK and Ireland. The site includes academic, national and specialized libraries which won't always appear in Worldcat.
  • The European Library, Gateway to Europe's National Libraries
    Searches the content of European national libraries.
  • Istituto Centrale del Catalogo Unico (ICCU/OPAC)
    Similar to Worldcat, this lists the availability of books in Italian libraries. Aside from its utility as a finding list, it is useful for bibliographical research generally, since allows for searches by date and place of publication, etc.
  • Karlsruhe Virtual Catalogue
    Allows searching of library and book trade catalogs worldwide, listing more than 500 million titles. Search catalogs from US, Australia, and Europe simultaneously (including 3 from Italy). Available in German and English
  • LibWeb
    Library Servers via WWW Links to over 7500 home pages from libraries in over 135 countries
  • NYPL Catalog- CATNYP
    Faculty and PhD students have full borrowing privileges at NYPL through MaRLI. CATNYP includes more than 6.8 million records: over 4 million records for titles cataloged since 1972 and over 2 million records for titles cataloged prior to 1972.
  • NYU in Florence Villa Ulivi Library Catalog
  • WorldCat
    Union catalog with items in various formats from over 14,000 participating institutions in 44 countries and territories, including academic, public, federal, medical, and corporate libraries.

Citation Management Tools

Take notes, organize your research, import citations from electronic databases and catalogs, format your references in  standard styles (MLA, APA etc.) for bibliographies; insert footnotes and endnotes directly into your papers.

  • RefWorks

    RefWorks is licensed to everyone in the NYU community. A web-based program you can use to organize your research.

  • EndNote

    Software you load on your personal computer to organize your research. NYU community members may download a free copy of EndNote (current NYU NetID and password required). ]

  • EndNote Web
    Web-based version of Endnote, free to ISI Web of Knowledge subscribers (NYU Libraries subscribe to Web of Knowledge). Login or create an account . You don't need to own EndNote to use this. Folders may be shared online with other EndNote Web users. [more...]

  • EasyBib
    Web-based software featuring MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, parenthetical and footnote formatting, and the ability to save, share, and export citation lists.
  • Zotero
    Firefox extension designed for the Firefox browser (Mac and PC). Free online reference management and authoring.

How Do I Choose Between RefWorks, EndNote, and Zotero?

Come to a Library Workshop or view this comparison chart.

      

    Recommend a title for purchase

     Is a book that you need for your research not available at Bobst?

     

    Library News

    Twitter Feed:

    Loading Loading...
    blank padding
     

    Need Help?

    Contact us via email, text us at 646-265-1342, or schedule an appointment.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip