NYU students, faculty, and staff have full access to all the e-books, e-journals and databases available from NYU Libraries.
The titles below and in the boxes on the right are particularly relevant to the academic program in Florence.
Some NYU Libraries Research Guides
Academic Reference and Reserve Collections at NYU Florence
The Ulivi Library contains about 5,000 volumes, most of which are copies of required course textbooks or have been purchased upon the recommendation of faculty members.
Students are welcome to use the library as a study space and consult books on a reference-only basis. Books may not be borrowed unless otherwise specified.
In addition to required and recommended books, library holdings feature course folders, a DVD collection, newspapers and magazines, collections of CDs and CD-ROMs.
Villa Ulivi Library is a great place to study!
The library is a reserve reading room and non-circulating collection. Syllabi for classes are available, as are all class readings. Course folders and recommended reading materials may be put on reserve for student use. Copies of all required and recommended books are on reserve in the Villa Ulivi Library.
For photocopying, students need to purchase photocopy cards at the Villa Ulivi Reception Desk. Two Xerox machines are available, one with a free scan to email function. Adjacent to the library is a computer lab.
Search BobCat for Books and Articles
Search here for books, journals and other print materials, videos, sound recordings, e-books, e-journals, databases, and indexes in our local libraries and special collections.
Database Search Tips
Here are tips for better search results in databases. This usage works on most databases, but check 'Help' sections for supported search syntax.
Boolean: (using operators: and, or, not)
mother and father searches for occurrences of both words within scope defined.
mother or father searches for one or all, but both are not required.
mother not father searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father.’
(mother not father) and god searches for occurrences of the word ‘mother’ without use of the word ‘father,’ then also requires the word ‘god.’
art* searches for art, arts, artistic, artful, etc.
m?n searches for man and men.
Citation Management Tools
Take notes, organize your research, import citations from electronic databases and catalogs, format your references in standard styles (MLA, APA etc.) for bibliographies; insert footnotes and endnotes directly into your papers.
RefWorks is licensed to everyone in the NYU community. A web-based program you can use to organize your research.
Software you load on your personal computer to organize your research. NYU community members may download a free copy of EndNote (current NYU NetID and password required). ]
- EndNote Web
Web-based version of Endnote, free to ISI Web of Knowledge subscribers (NYU Libraries subscribe to Web of Knowledge). Login or create an account . You don't need to own EndNote to use this. Folders may be shared online with other EndNote Web users. [more...]
Web-based software featuring MLA, APA, and Chicago styles, parenthetical and footnote formatting, and the ability to save, share, and export citation lists.
Firefox extension designed for the Firefox browser (Mac and PC). Free online reference management and authoring.
How Do I Choose Between RefWorks, EndNote, and Zotero?
Location & Hours
Located in the Villa Ulivi Academic Center, Ground Floor
The Library is open:
Monday-Thursday: 8:30AM to 9:00PM
Friday: 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Saturday and Sunday: 2:00PM to 8:00PM
(This schedule may vary due to holidays, or when classes are not in session).
Chat with a Librarian
IM Service Hours
NYU librarians are available to help via instant messaging chat, screenname: AskBobst. It will be helpful to mention that you are studying at NYU in Accra, for example.
Current Time in New York: