Bobst Info!
See also
Great reference source for checking citation styles (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.). Includes information on free bibliographic management software (RefWorks, Zotero, etc.) for saving citations online and automatically creating your bibliography.
A plugin for Firefox and Internet Explorer that allows you to link back to NYU Library resources when you are doing research on the web.
Online Resources
Do a search on Europa (the official website of the European Union) for documents, treaties and statistical information.
Learn about how to search Europeana, a digital library of Europe's cultural artifacts, and the European Library catalog, a digital library which features the catalogs and accessible digital collections from 47 national libraries in Europe.
Browse a variety of interesting links related to Europe.
Reference Materials
Find a variety of reference materials on Europe like bibliographies, encyclopedias, statistics, and more!
Navigation

Photograph taken by Europe's weather satellite, MSG-1.
Welcome to the European Studies LibGuide for NYU Bobst Library! In addition to offering information on library and academic resources at NYU's Bobst library and other libraries around the world, this research guide provides links to free resources available online, as well as tips to help you in various stages of the research process.
NOTE: If you're doing research on Russia and other Slavic countries, cultures or subjects, you should also see Diana Green's Slavic Studies Research Guide.
Navigation:
- Look in the subtabs for tips on beginning your research and creating your bibliography. On the left sidebar of this page, find links to other library guides like the Bibliographic and Footnote Style Guide for help on different bibliography and citation styles, and the LibX at NYU toolbar for your computer's Firefox or Internet Explorer web browser, a nice research retrieval tool that can take books and articles you find while surfing the web and obtain them through NYU Library's resource network.
- See A Research
Walkthrough for a methodical research process based on Browsing by Subject Heading in BobCat Standard to focus your research question and narrow the results of your search. While the walkthrough is based on the subject of emigration and immigration, it includes information on Other Common Topics which may help you adjust the walkthrough based on this example to your unique question or topic. Also see The Research Process for a good diagram of the cyclical research process and advice on not getting discouraged.
- See the Books tab for help on searching for books in BobCat (NYU's online library catalog), how to find books which are not available at NYU through Interlibrary Loan, and a guide to Subject Searching in BobCat to help narrow the subjects of your research.
- See the Journal Articles tab for help on searching in Bobst’s collection of article databases and how to find full-text copies of articles. Also see the subtabs for guides to various Articles, Papers, and Data Collections which are held at Bobst, Recommended databases for specific subjects and disciplines, Advanced Search Techniques using phrase searching, truncation, wildcards, and Boolean operators, and information on Using Google Scholar to search for known items.
- See News Sources for resources in European newspapers and other news sources, including: European News Sources, which features an incomplete listing of European news sources by country; Top News Feeds, which features RSS feeds from major newspapers in/about Europe; Spanish Newspapers, which is a special news resource just for daily Spanish newspapers and links to news aggregators who provide access to Spanish newspapers; Online & Full text Collections of Historical Newspapers, which features for collections of historical newspapers accessible online (currently under construction).
Subject Librarian |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Contact Info Office directions: on the Bobst Mezzanine. West 3rd Street side, I am in room 1M-04E, just past midway (6th door going west), and my name is on the door. (212) 998-2633 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Creator
This research guide was authored by Jeremy Bold, a graduate student in European Studies at NYU and a dual-degree student in the NYU/LIU library science program. He is not a nihilist, though he does study them in real life.




Loading...
