This selective guide to the literature of cinema is intended as a starting place for researchers, pointing to tools for finding books, scholarly articles, reviews, and collection-related information.
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2013
- Women Film Pioneers Project
features silent-era producers, directors, co-directors, scenario writers, scenario editors, camera operators, title writers, editors, costume designers, exhibitors, theatre managers to make the point that they were not just actresses.
Duane Jones (second from right) makes zombie history as Ben in Night of the Living Dead.
- Asian Film Online
Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection curated by film scholars and critics, viewers can explore the impact of globalization and urbanization on people’s everyday lives throughout the greater Asian region.
Lantern is the search platform for the collections of the Media History Digital Library, an open access initiative led by David Pierce and Eric Hoyt. The Media History Digital Library (MHDL) digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access.
- Asian Studies in Video
Streams culturally and historically significant films from Asia and the Pacific that entertain, educate and inspire viewers to think beyond boundaries. With the latest streaming technology, subscribers have unlimited access to our films in DVD quality.
- Black Studies in Video
Black Studies in Video is a signature Alexander Street Press collection featuring award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
- Silent Film Online
Silent Film Online brings together films representing the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. Carefully curated with ASP’s Video Advisory Board, the database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s.
- New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts
This resource offers access to roughly 200 full-length feature films from 1990-Present. The collection incorporates leading independent distributors such as Kino Lorber, First Run Features, Film Movement, MK2, and Global Lens. There are also some 50 award winning short films. All films were presented at major film festivals, many were nominated for awards, and many have won major awards.
- LGBT Studies in Video
LGBT Studies in Video features award-winning films, documentaries, interviews and archival footage exploring the cultural and political evolution of the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender community.
- Cinema Image Gallery
This database features an unparalleled range of pictures, posters, video clips, and other material from the world of film and television. Cinema Image Gallery documents the history of movie making through high-quality stills from film sets, and contains an extensive collection of television stills, featuring thousands of pictures taken on the set of from classic comedies, dramas, game shows and more. Database-specific search parameters developed specifically for this resource—Title, Director, Actor Names, Genre, Awards (Academy Award, Cannes Film Festival, Screen Actors Guild)—to ensure accuracy and speed in locating relevant material. Please send feedback to email@example.com.
- Network of Arab Arthouse Screens (NAAS)
NAAS is a network of independent art-house cinemas and cultural institutions united by the common goal to develop cinema culture across the Arab world by bringing the best of local, regional and world cinema to our large combined audiences. As committed and experienced promoters of art and cinema from Morocco to Syria, network members establish and enhance valuable synergies -- in distribution, programming, promotion and workshops -- in the face of shared obstacles and individual, local isolation.