Welcome!
Welcome fellow devotees of 19th century theatre history!
*5 easy steps to research
Use this opening page as a abbreviated model, a sort of diagram of "how to find resources". Here are representations of images, books, articles, dissertations, and primary source material. You will of course need more than one example for each area depending on the length of your paper.
To adapt this method for your topic, use the tabs that run along the top of the page to find similar resources. If you use this system you should end up with a first rate paper on your topic!
I'd be happy to help in any way I can so don't hesitate to contact me via email or chat, or just drop my office.
Happy Research!
#1 Finding Bibliographies
Here is one example of the many Bibliographies you can find by clicking on the Bibliographies link: Young, William C. Famous Actors and Actresses on the American Stage in the series Documents of American Theater History. New York: R.R. Bowker, 1975.
Bobst Ref1 PN2285.Y6 1975b vol. 1 & 2
"Presents information about 225 American actors, mostly from the
eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. He uses excerpts from articles,
interviews, and reviews published at the time the actor was working to
present both the actor's views on the profession and the critical
reception of his or her work."
# 2 Find Books Using BobCat
Go to BobCat to find books click on the Finding Books tab
# 5 finding Images
Edwin Forrest, American actor, between 1844 and 1860. This image is available from the United States Library of Congress's Prints and Photographs Division under the digital ID cph.3c10205. commons.wikimedia.org/
Forrest, Edwin
Use the Finding Images tab to see others.
- Philip H. Ward Collection of Theatrical Images, 1856-1910published by University of Pennsylvania. Annenberg Rare Book and Manuscript Library
# 2 Books #3 Articles (dissertations) /Staging captivity: "Metamora" and American identity
© 1999-2008, The Authentic History Center
An enormously popular early American play, John Augustus Stone's Metamora; Or the Last of the Wampanoags , is an example of how captivity narratives so influenced Americans' self concept that early American literatures manipulated tropes of captivity in their attempt to define "American."
Dissertations are authored by students to satisfy degree requirements. They usually are not professionally edited. They mark the beginning of the student's efforts in a field. The Bibliograpies are particulary useful. If you would like to see or other dissertations, go to the library page: http://library.nyu.edu/ select Articles & Databases and select the letter D.
#5 Images/ A Search for an American Voice in Theater: Prelude and First Curtains
The Theatre in Video Database Contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 documentaries, all in streaming video.
To find images and videos click on the the Finding Images tab
- A Search for an American Voice in Theater: Prelude and First CurtainsAmong the topics discussed are actor training; the stage careers of Ira Aldridge, Edwin Forrest, and William Macready; the African Theater Company; the Astor Place Opera House riots; and issues such as immigration and segregation.
Subject Librarian |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Subjects: Theatre & Performance Studies |
#2 Finding Articles via BobCat
See tab number 2 Finding Articles via BobCat
- FORREST,EDWIN, 'METAMORA', AND THE INDIAN-REMOVAL-ACT OF 1830
- Hamlet rides among the Seminoles (American theater history, Edwin Forrest)
- The riot that remade a city
- The Forrest divorce suit report of the trial of Catherine N. Forrest vs. Edwin Forrest for divorce : held in the Superior Court of New York, Dec., 1851, before Chief Justice Oakley and a special jury
- MR. FORREST'S LEGS
- Classified Ad 16 -- No Title
#3 Finding Articles via electronic resources list
via the database Accessible Archives . Go to the Finding Articles/Databases tab.
#4 Finding Newspaper Articles
Via Historical Proquest Newapapers. Go to the Newspapers/Oral Histories/Archives tab.



Loading...
